Booting Linux on USB without restarting

ReederOnTheRun

First, I'm a linux noob. Just made the switch on my laptop and I love it. That got me thinking of how much I'd enjoy linux over the not-so-great Windows computers at my university. So here's the situation:

- The campus computers are laggy and won't let you install anything (except spotify for some reason?)
- I have a 16GB usb
- The tech support here said that the computers probably won't boot from a cd or usb because the they are all connected to some off-site server that controls what is booted.

1. I was wondering if any of you knew how I can force the computer to boot from the usb?
2. Is 16GB fine for Linux mint 13?
3. Will it still work if I switched to a different computer? (I don't know if it might automatically load drivers for that specific hardware and not know what to do when I go to a different computer)

Thanks!

You could do that, but you'd need to find a way of booting it from USB first, otherwise it wouldn't work. I would imagine they'd have protections in place to prevent exactly that thing from happening to be honest.

- The tech support here said that the computers probably won't boot from a cd or usb because the they are all connected to some off-site server that controls what is booted.
hmm; disconnect the network cable, insert the CD or USB stick and the reboot.
You are now isolated from the network and under the control of the BIOS settings for the boot process.

If the boot order in the BIOS is correct, the the CD will boot. The USB should but some systems have problems
with this issue.

btw: Knoppix CD is a great Linux boot

To Leeky:

Yeah, that's what I was thinking. I did read something about a program you can run in windows to force it to restart and boot from the usb, but I'm still at the early stages of figuring out if that'll work.

To jobeard:

Great idea! I'll try that next time I get a chance and see what happens. If the regular usb boot doesn't work I'll try Knoppix CD.