TechSpot

Can I delete the "all users" account in win XP pro?

By Decz
Jan 15, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am the only user of my computer, so I want to know if I can change the settings so that there is only an administrator account and not an "all users"... Specifically what I am refering to is the start menu.... when I want to make adjustments to the start menu (start/properties/classic view/customize/advanced) I dont' want to keep having to move things from the "all users" account into the "admin" account.... Is there some way to delete the "all users"?
    I've tried going to control panel/user accounts, but it only shows the admin account and a guest account, and the guest account is not activated.
  2. Nodsu

    Nodsu TS Rookie Posts: 9,431

    There is no account called "All Users". "All users" means all users, literally. If the only account on your computer is administrator then all users effectivley is the admin.
  3. RRJSH

    RRJSH TS Rookie

    go to MS site and find the "Search Support(KB)
    Microsoft Windows XP" window. Type in "Article ID : 298312"

    Hope it helps.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.