Can't connect wirelessly

I have a BT Homehub. I have had my Desktop connected via cable for a while now and I also have a laptop connected wirelessly. I have recently moved the desktop and so want to use it wirelessly. The desktop picks up BT FON wirelessly ok so I know it is working properly but it does not find my BT Homehub. I have not had any sense from BT and I am a computer novice so if you can help please DO treat me like an *****. It is driving me mad!
Can anyone help me?

Sorry, The lap top is Dell and is Windows 7 Home Premium. This picks up the signal and is working fine - it was easy to set up following the instructions and I have not had any trouble at all with connection.
The Desktop is a HP and is Windows XP. I had trouble setting it up wirelessly originally but because it was next to the BT Homehub I just connect it with wires. I have now moved things around, as you do, and it is no longer in reach of the hub.

Yes, as I mentioned it picks up other wireless networks and connects to them but it does not find my BT Homehub. I have set up the connection manually and it still won't connect. It says the wireless signal is not broadcasting but my laptop finds it without a problem. It is in the same room and the signal strength on the laptop in the same position is very strong.

"It says the wireless signal is not broadcasting but my laptop finds it without a problem. It is in the same room and the signal strength on the laptop in the same position is very strong"...
Then you will have to change out the desktops wireless adapter with another

When you say 'change out the desktop wireless adaptor' do you mean replace it for a new one?

If so, why? It is picking up all other wireless connections in the area and allows me to connect to them without problem. It just doesn't see my BT Homehub signal. I know the Homehub is working fine because I can pick up the signal fine on my laptop and another desktop.