Can't get online without USB wi fi

learninmypc

I've been trying for over 6 hours to get a friends was (W8/W10) HP ENVY Touchsmart Ultrabook online but no way. Plug in the USB & I'm online. I even took it to the modem/router but no success.
Left clicking on the notification area wifi icon it also shows the airplane mode which is turned off. I click on connect but it won't. I've gone thru many threads on the subject in here but nothing. :confused:
Please be patient, I'm new to touch screen although I'm using a mouse.

1) Look under Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections\Properties for any kind of hook or tunneling items and remove the check mark. 2) scan for malicious software. 3) Go under device manager and uninstall the wifi/network device leaving the drivers installed, then restart the system.

1) Look under Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections\Properties for any kind of hook or tunneling items and remove the check mark. 2) scan for malicious software. 3) Go under device manager and uninstall the wifi/network device leaving the drivers installed, then restart the system.
Did everything you said except I couldn't locate "\Properties for any kind of hook or tunneling items and remove the check mark.".

Windows 7? click the internet icon next to the clock on the task bar (bottom right corner), open network and sharing center. Then click the change adapter settings (left side), next right click the "enabled"(not the USB adapter) adapter and go to properties. that's where u will see any tunneling items.

Last edited:
Windows 7? click the internet icon next to the clock on the task bar (bottom right corner), open network and sharing center. Then click the change adapter settings (left side), next right click the "enabled"(not the USB adapter) adapter and go to properties. that's where u will see any tunneling items.