Computer connects to the router, but not to the Internet... Others work fine

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been running a set-up with my two roommates for almost 2 years now. We use a hard-wired router for internet connections, and recently mine quit working. I still can connect to the router itself, but not to the internet. The other two computers still have great connectivity. I've tried manually changing the I.P. address which doesn't solve any problems. Cycling the router and/or modem does nothing, and repairing the connection tells me that nothing is wrong with it.

It's been really frustrating and I'd love to solve this problem. I haven't tried directly plugging my computer into the modem (instead of through the router)...would that tell me anything? Any help would be fantastic.

Ok, I have tried direcly connecting to the modem and the same problem happens. It says that I am connected at 100mps (just like the router) but i cannot access anything online. Pinging sites such as google comes back negative. Running ipconfig/renew or release does nothing (i think because I put in a manual IP...if i have it set to find its own IP, it gives me Limited or No connectivity). ipconfig/flushdns comes back ok. I'm pretty stuck here...could it be something wrong with my laptop's hardware?

This problem is a persistant one. I'm going to try connecting via a USB to Ethernet cable connection instead of directly out of the Ethernet port. Any assitance would be greatly appreciated...

Contact your ISP provider seems the problem is with your modem and not the router nor the PC NIC. One you you did that test from Modem to PC direct and you get the same issue then it's the modem not connecting to the ISP servers for you to get a DNS address.

was just talking about what can cause this in a different thread. Varies by isp, who's your isp? (do you use comcast, i know is true for them)