Computer not entering BIOS setup

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone ever hear of a computer clearing POST but then freezing during startup before accessing any drives? It also freezes when I try to enter the BIOS setup. I have an image displaied during setup so I can't see where it freezes. I have never had a computer not enter setup before and I have been building them for over 20 years. I can't get into the BIOS and I can't boot from a floppy to try and see what the problem is. This system was working fine yesterday but this started when I did a restart last night. I have disconnected the SATA RAID and all of the IDE drives and it still freezes. Any ideas?

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Forgive me if you`ve already tried all this.

Try clearing the cmos.

If it`s still a no go, then I`d suggest taking the heatsink off and after cleaning off the old thermal paste/pad, applying some new thermal paste and reattaching the heatsink.

Check the mobo for bulging or leaking capacitors. See HERE for more info.

Try a different psu.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave: