Counter Strike Ping problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

G_will-e-kers

Hey i am a first time writer for this site but it looks like you guys get results so here goes...

i have a problem with ping on counter strike. i recently got broadband and am running at 256k. So my ping should be relatively low around like 30. But it isn't it sits at like 450 (that is worse than a 56k modem). it is only counter stike that does it aswell, warcraft III goes fast and i can surf the net fast, it is only counter strike. i don't know how to fix it up. AAAAHHHHH please help asap. Feel free to e-mail or just reply any help will be much appreciated. PLEASE HELP!!!

You can specify a port through that, and different ports could have had different speed with CS.

yeh i deffinately tried more than 1 server and they all say the same thing 450 or so ping

1.3Ghz, 256mb ram, radeon 9000 128mb ddr

That doesn't affect it though coz my net still goes fast it is just counter strike on line.

maybe there is some kind of config command i can use or something

Hmm thats wierd, then it is deffinately something in counter strike.
ill look around in my CS folder, and see what i can find. If I see any settings that might change connection speed I will post here.

Try reinstalling CS it cant hurt to try. I am still looking for possibilities.

Good Luck, STK

oh ok thats great thanks.
Yes it is a puzzling one, i don't get it myself i mean my net is fine until it comes down to cs. Thanks for the help mate and i'll wait for the reply

it is version 1.5 and i just re installed it but no luck it still laggs

i haven't tried 1.6 yet maybe i should??? um also i had to download the full retail patch to upgrade it from 1.0.0.0 to 1.0.0.5. the patch was 115 meg, maybe that screwed it up??
i dunno

You should try anything that wont hurt your system. I got to get some rest, but if i find something i will let you know.

Good Luck