CPU not running at advertised speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

HPCE_Larry

I just finished building a new computer. I boot it up and go to the bios to make sure the memory timeings are right and such. In it, it claims that the cpu speed is 2.13ghz (266mhz x8). However, its a core 2 duo e6600 which should run @ 2.4ghz. Also, despite being epp memory, it doens't have the right timings. Its ddr2 800 corsair dominator ram that should be running 4-4-4-12. However, the bios claims its 5-5-5-18.

The motherboard is an EVGA 680i. Any idea whats going on?

EDIT: The strange thing is, memtest claims the cpu is running at 2.4ghz.
EDIT: The multiplier in the bios was wrong. Fixed it. Also got memory working.

I've been experiencing a similar problem. I've got a E6300, which should run at 1.86GHz, but CPU-Z registers it as being at as being at 1596 MHz. I'm no expert, but I'm more than capable of a little arithmetic, and that seems like my multiplier should be 7x, as opposed to 6x like I'm getting.

But here's thing crux of the matter. In my BIOS, hardly anything can be changed. I asked on the Packard Bell forums and was told something about not being able to overclock PB computers. I don't think they understood that I'm only trying to get what I paid for! Please help!

EDIT: I just noticed that intermitently, my multipler jumps up to x7, and then goes down again. Any idea why? It seems to correlate to fluctuating voltage. Is my PSU just really bad? I'm upgrading anyway. Do you think this will fix it?

You probably will not have any luck with the Packard Bell. What you paid for too often is not what you got. They flip-flopped on motherboards and components a lot.
Is this the current European Packard Bell, the Asian Packard Bell, or the failed US Packard Bell?