"Crackling/Buzzing" Noise From SATA HDD

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi

I'm new to this stuff - building a PC for the first time - and struggling as I go along - so any and all help would be hugely welcome.

I have a Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300Gb HDD installed in this PC I'm trying to build - but I get this "buzzing"/"crackling" sound every time the system accesses the disk. It doesn't seem to matter which SATA connection I connect it to (I've tried all 8), or which SATA cable I use (I've used 3 different ones), or which power cable I plug into it (I've used both the cables that come with my Tagan PSU) - it continues to make this "noise" - and this is the second SATA drive I've had for this machine (the first one behaved in the same manner).

I've never had a SATA drive before - so this could be normal behaviour for a SATA drive - but it doesn't sound normal - and, as the system has a tendency to crash during disk access, I tend to think that it ain't normal!!

Having "chopped and changed" all the components (drive, cables, etc) to no avail, I tend to think that the problem may lie with the mobo rather than the HDD.

Has anybody come across this kind of thing before? Or is anybody able to throw any light on this subject? Is there a jumper I haven't set right? Or is it a BIOS problem that will disappear with an upgrade? Is the mobo simply "faulty" and needs to be replaced (my personal "prime suspect")? Or might it be something else entirely?

I haven't "tweaked" any BIOS settings - so they're all set at "default"

Many thanks for any and all help, advice, sympathy, etc

Jimokee
-------
Specs
-----------------------------------------------
Lanparty nf4 SLI-DR motherboard
Phoenix-Award BIOS v6.00PG
Tagan TG480-U22 power supply
AMD Athlon FX-55
ThermalRight XP-120 Heatsink with Vantec SF12025L Stealth 120mm fan
2 x 512mb OCZ EL DDR PC-5000 Dual Channel Platinum DFI nF4 Special
2 x Point of View nVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB DDR3 PCI-Express