Creating an image of Windows XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here,.
I heared about tech support and learned that there are professionals and great teachers here.

Got a problem installing a new OS for computers. You know it wastes time doing the installation of XP. (inputting of those data required).

Can anyone help me guide install from an image of XP.
What should i do first?

I appreciate every help and suggestions.
thanks.

can only do this if the 2 machines are the same
mostly the MB and cpu
thats what the activation protection is all about
look in the original , settings and file tranfer wizard.
acronis true image may help
or do you want to make a iso of the original disc

so i should have a two identical machines. With same Memory and CPU?
Imaging will not help me with this. We have different computers here.

But sir, do you know how is that sysprep?
I just wanted to automate my installation everytime that there is a need of rush.

thanks for your help.

well imaging is a tricky thing. technically you should have one image for each hardware type to cut down on any blue screens that may occur from HAL issues. if you have two different machine types just make two different images. The way to go is with sysprep. Sysprep will create a unattend.txt (or winnt.sif) you can customize. Sysprep is great to use, but dont use ghost to save the image use microsoft's imgdeploy. Way better, a little more of a learning curve but not so bad. You are going to need to make a WinPE disc with imgdeploy on it. Check this out: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;302577&sd=tech
http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/programs/sa/benefits/winpe.mspx
http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
http://www.windowsitpro.com/Articles/Index.cfm?ArticleID=43536&DisplayTab=Article