Ddr2 memory

Status
Not open for further replies.

LinkedKube

Okay I'm a noob, we all know this. When I buy ram and it says ddr 1000 or 1200 is this the native speed that it runs at from factory. Is the concept same a cpu's as you buy a cpu that runs at 800fsb or 533fsb or w/e. Then you change the fsb through bios etc? Same concept right? I was wondering if I bought pc 10000 ddr2 would I be able to run it in a mobo that stats 6400 is the highest I can run. So is it more so dependent on the ram or the mobo?

Now your problem is which RAM to buy? What does that MOBO say for you to buy? Look in your manual it should tell you, but better yet go to the MOBO and see what you can buy?

Its says ddr2 800, which is currently what I have. but i see some people overclocking to 900 with 800 ram, so wondering if its more dependent on the ram then the mobo. I figured my mobo might run something higher, just need some advise from someone who's done something similar or at least knows this stuff

tipstir said:
Now your problem is which RAM to buy? What does that MOBO say for you to buy? Look in your manual it should tell you, but better yet go to the MOBO and see what you can buy?

I was just on newegg a second ago and saw some customer reviews of people running ddr2 900 right out of the box on ddr2 800 boards, hmmm

before you rush out and buy ram, read the upgrading ram and troubleshooting guide in the guides forum.

Before you get all wrapped around the axle about overclocking your RAM, you should really add some RAM. 1 gig is ok, but you're not taking advantage of the processor until you've got two gigs in it. Overclocking RAM is a bit trickier than overclocking the processor. RAM will fry a lot faster than the cpu will.

supersmashbrada said:
When I buy ram and it says ddr 1000 or 1200 is this the native speed that it runs at from factory?
the RAM's speed rating is simply the fastest stable speed that the RAM is guaranteed [by the manufacturer] to operate at.