Dell Dimension 2400 MOBO?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rick1974

I've have a dell dimension 2400 thats about 3-4 years old, Now I've had some problems in the past with certain pci devices. Now recently i've purchased a graphics card (geforce 6200) and the thing only worked now and again. I've had it tested and the card is working fine. So I turn to the motherboard as the offender. I want to buy an upgraded one but i'm a total newbie when it comes to Motherboards, The only thing I have been told is not to buy one from dell..... as if i needed that piece of advise! So calling all computer buffs, can you help me please?
I can supply the id tag if needed.

No board other than dell will be a direct replacement, but any micro atx socket 478 board with ddr memory support should work. I'd get a board with agp(very hard to find a board like this with the newer pci-e), so you aren't limited to pci cards only. You probably will have to modify the front panel(lights, button(s)), as well as the front usb/audio, as these are likely specific to the dell motherboard. Note, the only one you really need to hook up is the power switch, the other stuff is just for convenience.

Socket 478 boards are falling away fast, as they're somewhat outdated. I could only find two new boards that'd work on newegg, and only one is in stock.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813138262
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813123008

Here's your spec page, fyi.
http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim2400/en/sm_en/specs.htm

Thanks again for searching. I have done a bit of digging myself, and some people have told me that I can only upgrade/update my motherboard with dell. But I find this hard to grasp. However, are the mobos you have advised me on upgraded? You also mentioned that some connectors might not be compatible, what would be the answer, and would a new case be req'd too?