Dell Laptop Screen Display Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

retexan599

My daughter’s 1 yr old Dell laptop began showing the odd screen artifacts that you see in my attachment. It is as if someone took a marker and scribbled on the screen. She says it is not always this exact form, and does not seem to interfere with normal use of the computer. She is using Windows XP. She lives in another state so I have not seen the problem first hand; I am just trying to narrow the problem down for her. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Attachments

• Beth's Computer (2).jpg
    Beth's Computer (2).jpg
    34.1 KB · Views: 56
Not sure if you mean the diagonal stripe as well as the mark - in any event the screen has been damaged, typically by being dropped or some other sort of inpact. Sorry. Is there a mark on the screen cover? If not, it might be worth a warranty claim on this one as the thing is only a year old.

I am a Dell Tech. And what you see is damage in the LCD Display. This is a warranty covered issue. As long as your still under warranty.

Just a suggestion, just tell them it just appeared. And if the first tech is not helpful just hang-up and call back. There are still good techs you can talk to but sometimes you have to filter through the ..... "Not So Good" techs. If you need more help just send me an email.

Your LCD is broken, you can either get warranty repair, or get an LCD kit online if your system is out of warranty.

magicmanlv1 said:
If you need more help just send me an email.

Just curious. Does this offer apply to anyone? :)

I've dealt with quite a few dell techs, the "not so good" ones, and just by the little bit you said in this post you seem to be atleast 10 times smarter than any tech I've dealt with. Seriously, do they just grab any random person off the street and give them a tech support job?