Dell or Custom build?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all.

I'm a newbie and like many here it seems my first question will be about buying or building a new PC. I'm not sure this is the right forum but this is where I saw the last thread on the subject.

I'm currently running a very old custom build (I didn't make it): Pentium III, 256MB RAM, 8MB+40MB HD, XP Pro. It was running fine but I had to wipe everything because of viruses and accidentally reinstalled XP on the ancient 8MB HD so now it is tortuously slow.

I know it is time for a new one anyway. I would like to keep the old one as a spare around the house. Maybe I will use it to try out Ubuntu.

I want to keep price as low as possible. I have no interest in gaming. Main uses are office stuff, internet, DVD playback, music storage & playback. That said, I like multitasking, I am impatient and I like things snappy. I might also be interested in running Ubuntu as a second OS.

I'd like to try building my own just for the learning experience but there are some great offers from Dell and it's hard to believe I'd get a price like this by building it myself.

For example:

DELL Dimension C521
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core 3600+
Windows XP Home
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz- 2DIMMs
160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™
16x DVD+/-RW Drive
19 inch E197FP Analog Flat Panel
NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE Integrated Graphics GPU
Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio

This is $599. I just missed an offer yesterday where it was $489.
This includes 19" LCD!

I'm not sure exactly what I do and don't need for my purposes. Could I really do any better with a custom build? BTW, I don't need to buy XP, I already have the CD.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Paul.

Hello and welcome to TechSpot.

I know what nearly everybody on TechSpot will tell you: build your own!

You can look at the Dell and say, "Why, it's $200 cheaper than my own build." You have to consider longer-term costs, however.