Does buss speed of cpu have to match the old cpu??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry, i am new to some of this. Everyone i have talked to so far shuts me down because i dont know everything about it. That is why i am asking questions, so please bear with me.
I have a celeron d 352, 3.2ghz, 533mhz processor. I was looking into getting an upgrade pentium 4. I have found one that is a 3.6ghz, but has a bus speed of 800 and hyper threading. My mother board says it supports 400/533/800. Does this mean it will support this cpu, or do i have to match it with the old cpu 533?? Do i have to just interchange my memory to match the 800? Please help, i have researched and read, but everybody that asks questions seems to be ahead of this point, or already knows about it. Thanks,

It must be equal to or faster... but will run at the maximum speed of the front side bus, regardless of what speed it is otherwise capable. There are all sorts of problems that come up when you change the cpu only on a standard computer brand and model... and changing from a Celeron to a Pentium is a key one in certain brands and models. HP's, for instance, are particularly difficult. You might need to do a series of Gurgle searches to track it down.

i have a lower end emachines t3524 with an msi rc410?? i believe motherboard. I wanted to upgrade to a pentium 4 661 cpu with 3.6 ghz, 800 bus speed. everything else says it should work fine, but i wasnt sure about the bus speed. Would it be better to just get a motherboard/dual processor combo? are the motherboard fairly universal? Thanks

You are getting off into a new world of what things cost, what parts work, and what components are compatible.
If you are replacing the motherboard, you usually are also replacing the memory, and the power supply, and the operating system. It gets complicated. It certainly gets expensive.