E-mail problems on dial up

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi,

Please help - for over 3 weeks I have been having problems sending e-mails.
I am using an IBM40i notebook with factory Windows XP. I have reinstalled XP to try and solve the problem but that didn't help.
With either Explorer or Mozilla, I get messages 'no XML in the response' and 'no HTML present in the HTTP server response' when I try to send an e-mail via either Yahoo mail or gmail. I am no expert on computers, so don't really understand these messages.

I can see my Inbox and open very small e-mails (sub 5kb) and I can surf the web otherwise without a problem, it's just sending e-mails and opening larger e-mails that is problematic. I can send an e-mail sometimes, but only a small (under 5kb) mail, and only in the first 5 minutes of opening the browser. I have tried connecting to the web on ADSL with my machine at my brothers house, and when I do so, there are no problems sending e-mails. I have tried two different modems, but the e-mail problem persists. Dial up at my brothers house was also problematic.

I don't know if other people can access their Yahoo account from my machine, as I don't know anyone else who has a Yahoo account. It seems to be a problem between my machine and my Yahoo and gmail accounts.

thanks for reading

It sounds like you're timing out before then entire mail can be sent. About the email program- neither "Explorer" nor "Mozilla" are email programs. There is an 'Internet Explorer' which is a browser and the Mozilla browser is called Firefox..

I have a Yahoo email account and do not have a problem accessing it, but Yahoo is a web based email account. So the problem sounds like it's in your browser, either of the ones I mentioned above.

Please do this: Control Panel> Internet Options> Advanced tab> HTTP 1.1 section> click to CHECK both HTTP 1.1. and HTTP 1.1 by proxy server> Apply> OK.

Do that and see if it resolves the problem. Let me know.