Epson printer question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doctor Gallop

Simple question that the Epson website was unable to help with [lousy support]. I have an old Epson Stylus 640 and when I print a page I get an "ID" type of thing printed out at the top of the page and at the bottom of the page. Question: How can I stop it from doing it and just print what it is supposed to print? Say I want to print something from a web page and there are 5 pages, every damn page has the stupid ID on it! Is there a way to control this?
Doctor Gallop

Browser?

I have to say I didn't read all of these entries, but perhaps you can find a "fix" here:

Printing dates on documents

Q. I listen to your show faithfully every weekend. I am a lawyer who needs to have the date appear at the bottom of anything that I print for a case. Since getting a new printer, I no longer get the date. I tried calling technical support but they were no help. I hardly understood a word the reps said. Can you please lend a hand? Susan Jones

A. Sure I can. I’ll just refer to you as “Sue the lawyer.”

Having the date appear on your printouts is pretty handy. Most programs let you add a date in some way. Let’s go through some programs you may be using.

Microsoft Word Click where you want to place the date. Click Insert>>Date and Time. You will have a selection of choices--date only, time only and date and time. Choose one and click OK.

You can make Word insert dates in all documents automatically.

To do that, you must change the Word template. That is a file named Normal.dot.

You'll find it in these folders:

Windows XP
C:\Document and Settings\[Your Name]\Application
Data\Microsoft\Templates

Windows 2000
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application
Data\Microsoft\Templates

Windows ME
C:\Windows\Application Data\Microsoft\Templates

Windows 98
C:\Windows\Profiles\[Your Name]\Application DataMicrosoft\Templates

If you can't find it, use Windows Explorer to search for it.