Error help - res://C:\WINDOWS\system32\shdoclc.dll/navcancl.htm

jaheck1

Hello I'm new to techspot and my browser is stuck on: res://C:\WINDOWS\System32\shdoclc.dll/navcancl.htm - and will not do much else.

Do I need to get a logfile using Hijackthis - or where do I start?

Thank you, I appreciate anyone's time, advice and help on fixing this problem.

Welcome to TechSpot! Can you please describe what you mean by 'stuck on'?
Is this on startup?
Is it when you attempt to launch IE?
Can you do anything with the system?
Are you getting any error message- especially about 'permissions'?

There is malware that canc ause this

The computer seemed to boot up fine prior to a McAfee needed reboot, but then my MSN homepage loaded then switched to this system32...error. I am able to open hotmail and Excel fine and I already did a Malwarebytes scan and nothing was picked up. Any suggestions?

navcancl.htm means Navigation Cancelled - without knowing which OS you are running or which version of IE I am only guessing as to the possible solution.

shdoclc.dll is Shell Document Object and Control library -
It is used by Internet Explorer to store localized items such as menus, dialog boxes, and strings. Using Multilingual Menus and Dialog Boxes for Internet Explorer can cause this error.

See if this applies:
Navigation is canceled when you browse to Web pages that are in different Internet Explorer security zones:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/967941

After you install security update 961260 (MS09-002) on a computer that is running Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008, you may experience a problem when you visit some Web pages that are in different Internet Explorer security zones.

This problem occurs if the navigation causes Protected Mode settings to change from On to Off.