I have a Coolermaster HAF 912 case, and my computer specs are as follows:
  • Asrock N68C-S mobo
  • AMD Athlon II X4 640
  • Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 pro
  • 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM
  • PowerColor HD 6870 1GB GPU
  • Coolermaster GX 650w PSU
  • Running Win7 Ultimate
I also have 7x HDD's in the case (soon to be 6x HDD's and an SSD for the OS when I get time to install it). Anyway that's the spec..

The case had two stock fans- front (160mm x 180mm?), and rear 120mm x 120mm.

The rear case fan wasn't very quiet however, so I went ahead and purchased a 'Sharkoon silent eagle' (120mm). This isn't actually as 'silent' as its name suggests, but it does seem to create better airflow and it has reduced noise levels slightly.

What I'd like help with, is finding an ideal fan setup for my case which will keep it as quiet as possible, but also keep it cool (I use the computer for gaming/ using resource-hungry programs like the Adobe suite). I know there's going to need to be a compromise, and I'm fine with that, but I think I'd prefer it to be more geared towards the silent side, rather than performance.

My questions are:
  • Do I need a side or top fan? If so what sizes do I need and should they blow air in to the case or suck it out?
  • Should the rear fan be sucking air into the case or blowing it out?
  • Can I replace the fan on the Arctic Cooling Freezer to a Sharkoon (because the freezer fan is the noisiest of the lot!)
  • What is the actual size of the front case fan? (I'd like to replace this as this isn't very quiet either)

I'm open to any suggestions as I am clueless when it comes to building computers, I just know how to use them :)

Thanks
Tom

Lol, lovely username Tom. :p