Power supply - XFX Pro 450W Core Edition V1
    Cooling Fans - Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus Cooler
    Motherboard - Asus P8H61-MX USB3 Socket 1155 VGA DVI 8 Channel Audio mATX
    Processor/CPU - Intel Core i5 3350P 3.10GHz Socket 1155 6MB
    Ram - Crucial Ballistix Sports 8GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz PC3-12800U
    Video card - EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SC 2GB GDDR5
    Harddrive - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM ST1000DM003
    Disk drive - Pioneer DVR-220BK

Hi, I am a first time builder who lives in the UK and would like to build a gaming PC that is preferably with in the price range of £500 to £800. I would like to know if the products listed above are compatible and whether I should consider buying other products which are cheaper and better in terms of performance. I would also like know if this is a decent build in running most game today in the highest quality as well as how long it will last before I need to buy newer, better parts.

2. cliffordcooley

cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 6,105   +1,522

Everything is compatible. :)

Nice case and CPU cooler, however the CPU cooler would not really be needed if you don't over-clock. The Boxed CPU comes with an OEM CPU cooler that is fine with non-over-clock conditions.
    Are you planning on over-clocking? If so the motherboard and CPU are not really designed for over-clocking.

JC713 likes this.
  3. kensax

kensax TS Rookie Topic Starter

I dont plan to cos I dont know how to at the moment however what exactly are the advantages of overclocking and can you suggest a motherboard and CPU that suitable for overclocking?

4. St1ckM4n

St1ckM4n TS Evangelist Posts: 3,473   +622

Advantages: 'free' boost to CPU performance! You can get a stock CPU at like 3.4GHz, with overclocking you can get 4GHz+ easily.

Disadvantages: usually need to spend more on CPU and motherboard that provides easy overclocking (Z77 mobo, K-series CPU) and cooling.