Flashing error sign?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Loz1234

Hi I keep getting a flashing error sign in the bottom right side of the windows xp bar that says performance is decreased due to a virus/ spyware

it has downloaded a "security toolbar 7.1" to my computer 2 new programs named live safety centre and online security guide. I also keep getting popups and they differ sometimes saying "system alert: trojan........"

I will post Hijack this logs however am going out now so can't follow the rest of the instructions until later.

The combofix log is the most important one for the type of infection you have, we need to see it.

This thread is for the use of Loz1234 only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

Hi Rik,

did the combofix log which didn't fix the problem (don't know whether it should as i'm a novice) and have attatched it to this post, will await your reply, cheers.

You need to go through the full instruction set below.

You need to have a read of this - If your system is infected. Read this before deciding whether to CLEAN or REFORMAT.

Then if you should wish to proceed with cleaning your system you need to go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, Combofix, and AVG Antispyware logs as ATTACHMENTS into this thread, only after doing the above.

This thread is for the use of Loz1234 only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

I definately want to clean it, as for the preliminary removal instructions t ok to skip the AVG parts because I already have Norton 360 and several other virus / spyware scanners or is it a vital part?