TechSpot

Formatted computer, no sound after re-install.

By Darrenbilly
Feb 3, 2008
  1. After formatting my pc and reinstalling windows, i tried playing some music but had no joy. I looked in device manager and 'media control devices' had a yellow question mark over it. So i tried installing the realtek driver from realteks website. When it was installing, it got to a certain point and resarted my computer. So i tried in safe mode, it finished installing and said, along the lines of ' hardware installed, in order for it to work properly your computer needs to be resarted'. So i let it restart, it got to the windows loading screen and resarted and kept doing this, so i went back to safe mode and removed it. I still have no sound............. Any help? Thanks
     
  2. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Please download and run System Specs and then manually add all found information to your Profile

    Also state your operating system exactly (Windows Xp 32bit?)
    If your computer is a brand name (HP; Dell) type that in the motherboard field ie Dell Dimension 2100 or whatever it is)

    Then reply back with Specs are in
     
  3. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Profile changed

    I have added my pc info as best i can. Hope you can help!
     
  4. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Hmm that's strange, I can't see any specs in your profile
    Can you please re-confirm, go to your profile, and scroll down to Additional, under there is where all your System Specs, need to be added
     
  5. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Darn it, my system specs were hidden. The default is no! Thanks
     
  6. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Hi Darrenbilly,

    You have to go back again!

    Your mobo says Windows Xp (this should be in the OS part

    And the packard Bell should be in the Mobo - but I will need a model number too, they made lots!

    Also I might not be able to reply for a while, I was just about to log off, when you posted
     
  7. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Fini

    Done - hope thats it!
     
  8. Bigfellla

    Bigfellla TS Rookie Posts: 98

    You need to install the chipset drivers. Download and install PC Wizard from here http://www.cpuid.com/download/pcw2008_v183.exe
    and then run it. When opened, go to FILE, SAVE AS and save the text file to your desktop. COpy the text out of that file into this thread. Then i wil help you download the correct chipset drivers.
     
  9. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    i will do that shortly, can't get on that pc right now, cheers
     
  10. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Same problem

    I have the same problem on another computer, here is the chipset info

    PC Wizard 2008 Version 1.83
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Owner: Doug
    User: Doug
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
    Report Date: Wednesday 06 February 2008 at 20:10

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< System Summary >>>

    > Mainboard : Asus M2V-MX

    > Chipset : K8M890CE Host Bridge

    > Processor : AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2000 MHz

    > Physical Memory : 512 MB (1 x 512 DDR2-SDRAM )

    > Video Card : VT82C570 MV IDE Controller VIA Technologies Inc

    > Hard Disk : MAXTOR (160 GB)

    > DVD-Rom Drive : TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-S182D

    > Network Card : Realtek Semiconductor RT8139 (A/B/C/810x/813x/C+) Fast Ethernet Adapter

    > Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2

    > DirectX : Version 9.0c

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ***** End of report *****
     
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

  12. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Which one?

    What computer is that for? First or second? Thanks
     
  13. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    For the
    the asus M/B

    -----------------

    The Packard Bell computer
    http://support.packardbell.com/uk/
    Asks for Serial number

    The problem is that you have given a few models, from entering your S/N you may be able to get the exact description
     
  14. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Thanks

    Thats great thank-you. I will run program on the other computer now and get back to you shortyly.
     
  15. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    What drivers are needed for this computer?

    Please tell what i need to do to get my sound working on this computer, thanks!


    PC Wizard 2008 Version 1.83
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Owner: Sendhu
    User: Sendhu
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
    Report Date: Thursday 07 February 2008 at 18:10

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< System Summary >>>

    > Mainboard : NEC COMPUTERS INTERNATIONAL SiS651

    > Chipset : SiS 651

    > Processor : Intel Pentium 4 @ 2666 MHz

    > Physical Memory : 512 MB

    > Video Card : Nvidia Corp GeForce4 MX 440 [NV17.2]

    > Hard Disk : Maxtor (82 GB)

    > DVD-Rom Drive : HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8160B

    > CD-Rom Drive : SONY CD-RW CRX230ED

    > Monitor Type : NEC CI A727 - 16 inches

    > Network Card : Realtek Semiconductor RT8139 (A/B/C/810x/813x/C+) Fast Ethernet Adapter

    > Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2

    > DirectX : Version 9.0c (November 2006)

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ***** End of report *****
     
  16. Bigfellla

    Bigfellla TS Rookie Posts: 98

  17. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Huh, I just read that post in 2007 Bigfellla
    That's strange, also one link missing (must not be needed)

    Anyway, it fixed their computer
     
  18. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Did not work!

    I have done all of the above, twice, but it has not worked. I've not tried the asus. The second computer has not been fixed with bigfellas post. Anymore help please?

    Before you ask, i have not got the drivers and utilities disc.

    Thanks a million
     
  19. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Did it accept the driver ?
    And it it enabled in BIOS and in device Manager?
    Is the sound card showing in Audio in Control Panel ?
     
  20. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    ?????

    Not sure what you mean by the first two, but i know that it is not showing in Control Panel. It downloaded no problem, then restarted, but still no sound.
     
  21. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Sorry I'm getting confused

    Packard Bell - OK
    Asus - Not OK

    I think that's right

    Did you try post #11 drivers
    -------------------------

    Also the first 2

    BIOS (or more clearly CMOS) is the part of the computer setup, that you see when starting the computer (Hit DEL or F2 or something) to enter setup (displays for a few secs)
    Is Sound enabled ?

    And Device Manager

    Start -> Run -> devmgmt.msc

    best to remove any yellow querrie drivers (right click remove ok)
    Then restart
    Then install driver
     
  22. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    My bad

    Sorry, i've confused you.

    Packard Bell: Not ok, tried what bigfella said, no luck.

    Asus: Not had a chance to try post #11

    I will try everything in your post tomorrow, i have to go to bed now. Thank you again, thank you also for being patient :monkey:
     
  23. Bigfellla

    Bigfellla TS Rookie Posts: 98

  24. Darrenbilly

    Darrenbilly TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 161

    Hurrrah!

    It's fixed. Thank you all for your help. I know i can trust this site again. Thanks!
     
  25. glycon

    glycon TS Rookie

    Hello,

    I have the same problem, formatted computer, no sound after re`install, only in my case is about a notebook Packard Bell EasyNote MZ45. I have to tell you that before format i had vista on the notebook, and now i`he installed xp.

    Where should I find drivers for sound ? And for video card also ?
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...