Graphics Tearing - Card Dying?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RX_Queen

Hello! Very sorry for the confusing post, but I would appreciate some advice.

I recently purchased a new monitor after my last one died a sudden death, and as it's larger I've had to alter my settings accordingly. At first everything was fine. But these past few days I have been getting freezes on the WoW startup screen, and today it escalated to violent flickering and a black screen. I literally cannot get in the game, and even starting it up in windowed mode doesn't seem to have made a difference.

I am no expert in these matters, although I have had a similar problem before when I received a Geforce 9800gt card as a gift, and was right in thinking it would never work with my system when it caused tearing and sudden freezes during gameplay. I instead fitted my ex's 6800gs and everthing has been great until now.

I cannot tell if it's my monitor's new settings that is putting the card under such stress, or whether my card is dying. I know I cannot fit anything much better in my system as I cannot afford to update it much.

I must sound confused, but I have to confess that I'm completely bewildered as to what to do next.

I have included a Dxdiag with this post, and I hope someone can help me figure out what to do - buy a new card, change monitor settings or start saving for a new system?

I tested the card with another game and it refused point blank to work, and for a long shot I tested it by ATITools and it failed the artifacts test miserably. I'm fairly sure now it's on its last legs. It was pretty old when I got it, so at least I got a good six month's use out of it.