Guild Wars connection/lag problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

lookafallingroc

Hi i'm new to the forums and lately ive been having a few problems with one of my favorite video games, Guild Wars. I think the root of the problem is with my connection but im not sure; im a major novice when it comes to technical speech. (so who ever responds if you could put it in dumb-man speech it would be greatly appriciated :p) Anyway, onto the problem. the problems first start when i log into the game as it takes a long time to load a map, an unusually LARGE amount of time. sometimes a minute or 2 (other people load much quicker and have to wait until im loaded to really begin). Also, while in the public maps (towns) i lag tremendously when i try to turn or move my character. its becoming quite an annoyance, both to me and my teammates. any response is appriciated.

1st u need to fill in your profile for your system specs

then we can go from there to see whats up

cable modem (100mbps)
1.7GHz
256mb ram
37 gb hard drive

hope this is what you were looking for :/ (like i said im somewhat computer illiterate)

ok that will kind of help me see what your sys is capable of

first off and foremost, your 256mb system ram just wont do these days. I was explaining online gaming to another member here who was having lag issues too. I went to gamespot.com to check out the system requirements for guild wars. **side note**(i have never played guild wars, but i have played similar games to it) heres what they say you need minimum -->

min requirements PIII 800mhz
256mb sys ram
video ram 32mb
hard drive 2.0 gig

what they RECOMMEND (i.e. better)
P III 1 Ghz (your covered)
512 mb sys ram (your not covered)
video ram of 64 mb(unsure you didnt list)