HDD on laptop has failed, will not load Windows

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone! This is my first time at TechSpot but it looks like it is a very knowledgable community so I'm hoping you can suggest a possible solution.

The HDD on my wife's laptop has stopped working with no warning, leaving business critical data stranded. I would be grateful for any advice on how to fix this if possible. Here is exactly what happened as far as we can remember (please excuse any silly terminology - we are not too technical):

-laptop was running on the battery, my wife left it on too long and the battery ran out

-she plugged it into the mains to recharge and it started again, she continued working until she had to take a long telephone call

-on returning to computer she found it was frozen and she could not start programmes, switch off, reboot, etc in normal way. In the end she turned it off by removing the battery and replacing it (an old trick from an IT guy in a company she used to work for)

-when she tried to restart she got an error before the OS started to load saying (something like) there was a problem starting Windows (or stopping an earlier session) and giving her the options to start again normally or in Safe Mode, go to the command prompt, etc.

-she tried normal start but it did not work – it brought up the dotted progress bar which took forever to complete but then just came back to the original error screen

-when I got home I tried the Safe Mode option and it looked like it was doing something – it came up with a long list of drivers, etc that seemed to be loading (very slowly) but then went back to the same original error screen

-then I tried command prompt and eventually ended up with C:\ but when I typed “dir” (one of the few old DOS commands I remember) it sat for quite a while and then returned a message something like “no directory structure”