Help picking out some components

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am planning to build my own gaming computer.
I already have a old Hp PAvillion computer which I am planning to use some of its components, HD, Video Card( Gforce 4 Ti4200 128 Mb, Removable Storage a.k.a CD-RW drive/DVD driver. I might use the power supply depending how much it sucks, and I've got an Extigy sound card laying around that I would use. My Budget is Limited 300-400. Though I do not want a high end pc something that would let me play most First Person Shooter Games at decent quality settings. Looking for 70-80 fps if any of you are hard core gamers here. Like I said I do not need a High-end puter just average gaming computer that'd last me for 2-3 years.

Though I need all the other components
Mobo, Processor(AMD), Memory, Case, Cooling ( would the old puter's cooling work?, Power Supply.

I am not a newb when it comes to computers, I am majoring in computer science though I've never built my own computer so I am not that familiar with bios, setting memory, configuring mobos etc. so the more user friendly the better

Thanks in Advanced,
Carlos

hi

If you are going AMD, I suggest Athlon 3700+ or better. Heres a link with a list of mobos that support AMD and are good for cooling.

http://www2.amd.com/us-en/recmobo/ResultsHandler/1,,30_2252_869_9460^9461~73649,00.html

You can chose a faster one but for the money you want to spend I don't know how much it's going to be. For RAM i would think 1 gig is ok. Some people have up to 3 but it depends on how much RAM you are using now and how much the game requires. 2 gigs would be better of course but again the money comes into play. If your power supply is under 450 watts or is old I suggest buying a new one built into the case you are going to get. Get one with 450 watts or better. A new one should last you 2-3 years no prob. Heres a link to a site with a lot of computer cases(some pretty nice ones)