Help Please - I am v. confused!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
I am very new to this :angel:
My pc has died!! :mad: I have been told that it is the Motherboard.
The thing is I am not at all good with computers, although I must add I seem to be learning fast (last week I wouldnt have even known what a motherboard was!! :rolleyes: ).
The motherboard is a MS 6340 ver:5 and the pc is an AMD Athlon xp 1800+ (??? does this sound about right???) .
Anyway - I have been looking for the part and I dont think they make it anymore :knock:
I found another one that would work with my pc ... but ... it has DDR slots instead of SDRAM ! All my pictures and documents are on the memory of my old pc (I havent backed them up EVER).
Can anybody offer some advice - or should I just buy a whole new system?
Many thanks
Louise

The way I see it is that you have 2 options:

The first option is to get a newer mother board, newer memory and the down side to this is that you need to reinstall windows.

The second option is more risky (I'll explain why) and by far more time consuming, however if done correctly then you won't need to reinstall windows. For this one you need to go to ebay and search for exactly what you told us your board is "MS 6340 V.5" and you should get a few different options. This is risky because it's hardware coming from other people and it could be defective. I don't trust ebay for hardware...never have. But if you go this route, then you need to research each of the options you have to make sure that they are the exact same as your current board. Here is a decent looking one that I found on ebay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6785047360&category=42013&ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1

Hope this helps.

Who told you your motherbaord (MOBO) is bad? Please explain the senario, that lead to the conclusion that the MOBO is bad.

mendmepc