Help with overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, im an OC noob but I consider myself rather intelegent. Im pretty familiar with software and such but ive run into a dead-end trying to overclock my system. Google just confused me. I have a Dell Deminsion 4600 P4(Prescot) 2.8g on a Intel i865P/PE/G/i848P rev. A2 board. I've read about shorting pins(nuh-uh), disconecting and re-connecting different caches(not for a noob like me) increasing my multi.. I've found that Dell isn't to keen on that kinda stuff and locked my stuff down good. I've been dabling with CPUCool, It dont have my board set and the Pll type just through me off all together. But ive been seeing on google that people have infact overclocked this considerably but could be spoofs and like I said im a noob at this so I dont know fact from fiction on this. Below is a more detailed list of my system, If someone could please point me in the right direction with cpucool or any other way other then serious mod as you guys call it, I would greatly appriciate the knowledge. Teach a man to fish etc.....

Cheers

Processors Information
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Processor 1 (ID = 0)
Number of cores 1 (max 1)
Number of threads 1 (max 1)
Name Intel Pentium 4
Codename Prescott
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Package Socket 478 mPGA (platform ID = 2h)
CPUID F.3.4
Extended CPUID F.3
Core Stepping D0
Technology 90 nm
Core Speed 2793.1 MHz (21.0 x 133.0 MHz)
Rated Bus speed 532.0 MHz
Stock frequency 2800 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
L1 Data cache 16 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Trace cache 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 cache 1024 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control no

Chipset
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Northbridge Intel i865P/PE/G/i848P rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801EB (ICH5) rev. 02
Graphic Interface AGP