Help with reading minidump, computer keeps rebooting

By rAsk
Jul 5, 2010
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dear Techs,

    Since a couple of weeks I've been experiencing lot's of bluescreens / instant reboots. I reformatted my PC twice and reinstalled everything again, this didn't do the trick.

    I first thought it was a hardware failure (and it still very well might be) execpt after intensive memory checking with no errors, and the fact that I'm now in safe mode and nothing wierd happens, makes me beleive this could be a driver fault.

    Below is a paste of my analyze-v command from the latest crash:

    Code:
    0: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
    Invalid system memory was referenced.  This cannot be protected by try-except,
    it must be protected by a Probe.  Typically the address is just plain bad or it
    is pointing at freed memory.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: beb8ae8d, memory referenced.
    Arg2: 00000000, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
    Arg3: 8061a813, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
    	address.
    Arg4: 00000002, (reserved)
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    Could not read faulting driver name
    
    READ_ADDRESS:  beb8ae8d 
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+7e
    8061a813 33808d7e04f3    xor     eax,dword ptr [eax-0CFB8173h]
    
    MM_INTERNAL_CODE:  2
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  3
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  CODE_CORRUPTION
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 805d603d to 8061a813
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    b87cfaa8 805d603d e1c45b60 cbb42000 005c1000 nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+0x7e
    b87cfacc 805d6119 e1c45b60 01945000 cbb42000 nt!HvpEnlistBinInMap+0x8d
    b87cfb08 805d5f6d 00c45b60 01945000 00000000 nt!HvpMapFileImageAndBuildMap+0x171
    b87cfb58 805d5812 e1c45b60 00000000 00000001 nt!HvMapHive+0xf5
    b87cfb70 805d5504 e1c45c01 00000005 00000000 nt!HvInitializeHive+0x3da
    b87cfbdc 805d5dd5 b87cfc18 00000005 00000000 nt!CmpInitializeHive+0x273
    b87cfc34 805b8414 b87cfc98 00000000 b87cfc8c nt!CmpInitHiveFromFile+0xa3
    b87cfdac 80576316 00000002 00000000 00000000 nt!CmpLoadHiveThread+0x19a
    b87cfddc 804ec6f9 805b8289 00000002 00000000 nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x34
    00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 nt!KiThreadStartup+0x16
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    CHKIMG_EXTENSION: !chkimg -lo 50 -d !nt
        8061a7b4-8061a7b5  2 bytes - nt!CmpDoCreateChild+40c
    	[ 6c 6f:02 10 ]
        8061a7dc - nt!CmpDoCreateChild+434 (+0x28)
    	[ 25:20 ]
        8061a814 - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+7f (+0x38)
    	[ c0:80 ]
        8061a83c - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+e6 (+0x28)
    	[ 0c:08 ]
        8061a854-8061a855  2 bytes - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+fe (+0x18)
    	[ ad fb:52 04 ]
        8061a85d - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+103 (+0x09)
    	[ 83:01 ]
        8061a872 - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+118 (+0x15)
    	[ aa:8a ]
        8061a874-8061a875  2 bytes - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+11a (+0x02)
    	[ 3e 6a:c1 81 ]
        8061a877 - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+11d (+0x03)
    	[ 6a:62 ]
        8061a87c-8061a87e  3 bytes - nt!HvpEnlistFreeCells+122 (+0x05)
    	[ c3 03 45:c1 01 04 ]
        8061a89c-8061a89d  2 bytes - nt!HvpFreeMap+12 (+0x20)
    	[ bb ff:00 00 ]
        8061a8b2 - nt!HvpFreeMap+2a (+0x16)
    	[ 0f:0d ]
        8061a8ba - nt!HvpFreeMap+32 (+0x08)
    	[ 45:05 ]
        8061a8d4 - nt!HvpGetBinMemAlloc+28 (+0x1a)
    	[ 75:30 ]
        8061a91a - nt!HvpBuildMapAndCopy+e2 (+0x46)
    	[ 9a:8a ]
        8061a91d - nt!HvpBuildMapAndCopy+e5 (+0x03)
    	[ c0:40 ]
        8061a934 - nt!HvpBuildMapAndCopy+218 (+0x17)
    	[ cd:dd ]
        8061a954 - nt!HvpBuildMapAndCopy+23d (+0x20)
    	[ 53:13 ]
        8061a994-8061a995  2 bytes - nt!HvpInitMap+12a (+0x40)
    	[ 7d f4:82 0b ]
        8061a9ba - nt!HvpEnlistBinInMap+96 (+0x26)
    	[ 80:00 ]
        8061a9bc - nt!HvpEnlistBinInMap+98 (+0x02)
    	[ 8b:8a ]
        8061a9d4 - nt!HvpEnlistBinInMap+b0 (+0x18)
    	[ a0:80 ]
    29 errors : !nt (8061a7b4-8061a9d4)
    
    MODULE_NAME: memory_corruption
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  memory_corruption
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  memory_corruption
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0
    
    MEMORY_CORRUPTOR:  LARGE
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  MEMORY_CORRUPTION_LARGE
    
    BUCKET_ID:  MEMORY_CORRUPTION_LARGE
    
    Followup: memory_corruption
    Below is a link containing a zip file with all my minidumps from the last fresh install (couple of days ago)
    2shared.com/file/gG0QVU8R/Minidump.html

    Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Best regards
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    What did you use for memory checking? The reason for the question because three times in a row the analysis listes memory corruption.
  3. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    I ran the windiag mem. diagnostics cd for about 8 hour straight with only passes and zero errors. Although I did read somewhere that memory can still be faulthy and pass this kind of tests.

    I tried removing my memory units one by one and tried booting into XP, crashes remained. (did this four times since I have four memory units)

    Then my last resort was to check with only one memory unit installed (also tried this four times with all the units)

    I think there's a real small change that all my four units died at once.. Maybe this is the case I don't know.

    Could it be that my mobo has given up on me?
    The only thing that bothers me is that I can stay in safe mode for hours and work in different applications both off- and online, the resolution is a bit of a pain though,
  4. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    I've seen memtest86+ find errors when the windiag mem. diagnostics didn't and vice-versa. We have a tutorial under our Guides and Tutorial form on how to run Memtest

    *** If Memtest shows no errors then find the voltage specs of your RAM and compare it to the voltage setting in your BIOS. Do they match?


    * Also, the fact that you can run in Safe Mode points strongly to the fact that the issue is probably drivers because in SM Windows only loads the essential drivers and thus the reasoning goes whatever is causing your crashes cannot load and therefore no Blue Screens.
  5. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Thats exactly what I thought, but I can't locate the driver from the minidumps..
  6. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    Take your five most recent minidumps and zip them into one Zip file and attach to your next post. If you only have one or two just attach as is without zipping them.
  7. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    In my first post is a link with all 10 of my crashdumps.
  8. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Here's a zip file with the latest few.. In the zip in the link in the first post are more dumps..

    Thank you Route44

    Attached Files:

  9. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    I read five of the most recent minidumps you zipped.

    Two of the errors are 0xA and one of the main causes is faulty hardware. Both cited memory corruption as your issue.

    Three are 0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).

    One simply cited a Windows OS driver. Another cited the Nvidia display driver nv4_disp.dll. But the third cited memory corruption.

    Memory corruption will cause other items to be cited as the cause of system crashes but underneath it all the issue remains memory coirruptionn and corrupted memory can wreak havoc on a system, i.e. crashes randomnly at any time, doing anything or not doing anything.

    If you haven't run Memtest I suggest you do. By the way, earlier this year I had 4 sticks of Crucial Ballistix memory all go bad at the same time.

    See the link below and follow the instructions. There is a newer version than what is listed; use the newer. If you need to see what the Memtest screen looks like go to reply #21. The third screen is the Memtest screen.

    Step1 - Let it run for a LONG time. The rule is a minimum of 7 Passes; the more Passes after 7 so much the better. The only exception is if you start getting errors before 7 Passes then you can skip to Step 2.

    There are 8 individual tests per Pass. Many people will start this test before going to bed and check it the next day.

    If you have errors you have corrupted memory and it needs to be replaced.

    Step 2 – Because of errors you need to run this test per stick of RAM. Take out one and run the test. Then take that one out and put the other in and run the test. If you start getting errors before 7 Passes you know that stick is corrupted and you don’t need to run the test any further on that stick.


    Link: http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic62524.html

    * Get back to us with the results.


    *** If Memtest shows no errors then find the voltage specs of your RAM and compare it to the voltage setting in your BIOS. Do they match?
  10. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Currently at 9 passes 0 errors using the latest version of memtest..
    Will keep it running for a couple more hours.
  11. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    *** If Memtest shows no errors then find the voltage specs of your RAM and compare it to the voltage setting in your BIOS. Do they match?
  12. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Got 16 passes and zero errors, voltage settings seem to match aswell.
    Maybe the mobo, or could it be a faulty driver afterall?
  13. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    If you can link us to both your motherboard and memory.
     
  14. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

  15. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Is there anymore information I can supply to you? Really appreciate you helping me out here!
  16. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

  17. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Route44, Is there an alternative way to test this?
    I can't run this program in safe mode and loggin into normal windows just gives me about 10-50 seconds of "play time".

    I ran the test in windows normally and got about 1800 errors and zero passes in the first 20 seconds of testing, a small fraction of my log is placed below.

    Code:
    Changing video mode to 640x480x16...OK
    [12-7-2010 16:20:11] Test started for "Primair beeldschermstuurprogramma (NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS)"...
    Trying 16bpp RGB:565 mode...OK
    Error at [13A4B500]: must be 00FF, but found 0000 (bits: 0000000011111111)
    ...
    
    and about a thousand more of these.

    Thanks again!
  18. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    An alternate way would to be installing your video card into another system and testing. Many people use this tried and true method.
  19. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    I trust the test itself it's just that I get reboots every minute or so in windows.
    I'll install my card in another PC tomorow (and rund the test utility there if windows doesn't fail).

    I'll let you know!
  20. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    Good stuff. Before testing it with the VRAM utility it would be interesting to know if it runs stable for awhile. Look forward on hearing your results...
  21. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    I will, sorry for the delay, the PSU in the test pc doesn't have the right connector so I have to get a converter and didn't have the time to buy one yet. I'll def. keep you posted!
  22. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Allright,finally got around to testing it in another pc.
    After working on the pc for several hours without errors I was confident enough to run the test application you provided me in the previous post.

    The results were good:
    Code:
    Changing video mode to 640x480x16...OK
    [16-7-2010 17:35:45] Test started for "Primair beeldschermstuurprogramma (NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS)"...
    Trying 16bpp RGB:565 mode...OK
    Trying 16bpp RGB:555 mode...OK
    Trying 16bpp BGR:565 mode...NOT SUPPORTED (Code: 80004001)
    Trying 32bpp RGB:888 mode...OK
    Trying 32bpp BGR:888 mode...NOT SUPPORTED (Code: 80004001)
    [16-7-2010 17:41:57] Pass completed (0 errors found).
    
    The strange thing is in my own pc I got about 1800 errors in the first 30 seconds of testing.. (Like I pasted a few posts back).

    Can we be safe to say it's a driver issue now? (Maybe the graphics drivers or something), or could it be the mobo that's failing me, since I am now pretty confident my RAM and GPU are working properly.

    Love to hear what you think about this all Route44!
  23. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    If the power supply isn't providing the correct power needs you will experience the type of issues you are experiecing. This, of course, is not ruling out your motherboard.

    Your system is 7 years old. Perhaps it is the motherboard. Check it for any bulging caps.
  24. rAsk

    rAsk Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 16

    My system is 7 years old but my mobo is maybe 2 years old, got it replaced two years ago for the same model. Can the PSU somehow loose his power over time?
  25. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,109   +21

    Yes, especially in systems built by the likes of Dell, etc. because they use cheaply made power supplies.

    Just F.Y.I. rAsk:

    Iff you ever decide to build your own system or have a friend build you one from the parts you purchase, just let us know under the General Hardware forum. You'll get excellent advice from beginning to end. The two questions you must answer in order for us to help you is:

    1. Your budget.

    2. What you want to do with it.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.