How do I set up a wireless connection?

Dhakos

I have never used wireless before, the only computers we've had are desktops, but now that I have a laptop, can anyone help me in making the router available for wireless connection, and for my laptop to connect to it please?

The router is a "Buffalo WBMR G54"

So far I've tried enabling the Acess Point, it says to save and reboot, but when i do, I come back to that page and the encryption is set on none again. I'm very confused, any help would be appreciated :)

My laptop isn't detecting the wireless network, so I dont know what I'm doing wrong

Have you gone through the manual? It explains how to set everything up. Once you've set up the router, the laptop should be showing wireless connections down near the system clock in Windows.

there are two aspects to this
  1. enable WiFi (and appropriate settings) on the router itself
  2. and enabling your laptop WiFi adaptor
Use your browser to access the router settings and be sure to
  • enable the radio
  • set a new SSID so you know it from all others
  • ignore encryption for now (do that later)
  • make sure the router supports the {a,b,g,n} mode that your Laptop is going to use
  • save the settings
Now your laptop should be able to see your SSID and at least attempt a connection - - -

@JMMD
Yeah I've checked the manual, I've even reset the router to factory settings incase I accidentally changed some obscure setting, then after the factory reset, I wen't through the setup wizard in the router settings page itself. It set my wired internet up a treat, but no job for wireless.

@Jobeard
To my knowledge I've enabled WiFi (I ticked "enable access point" and there were wep options etc, and my laptop is enabled because I can see my neighbors wireless.

Enable the radio - Check (I think)
Set a new SSID - Check
Ignore the encryption - Check
Make sure the router supports abgn, dont quite know what that means...
Save settings - check