How often should you shut down computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

kesler

is it okay to shut down computer every day or leave it running when not in use or 2x week? Thanks

kesler said:
is it okay to shut down computer every day or leave it running when not in use or 2x week? Thanks

I would say that depends on how good the PC is, many modern PC's can be left running constantly, go to any high street shop in the UK and you will find their till's are all computers under the counter and these are rarely rebooted, I know I fix them for a living, I think the longest I ever saw one go without a reboot was about 4 months.

As for shutting it down when finished for the day, that's OK as well, I know some of the older PC's suffered from being constantly turned on and off with components heating and then contracting leading to a failure, but time has improved PC build to the point where this doesn't happen.

I use my laptop for about 6 hours a day and close it down when finished and it's suffered no ill effects for it.

Regards

I recommend booting it now and then, because there are some programs who have memory leaks. I thought that rebooting cleares the pagefile, so any crappy software writtings to it will be flushed. Back in the days I had Win2K running for weeks without rebooting, but in the end it did affect system performance, and a reboot solved it.

ouwedibbes said:
I recommend booting it now and then, because there are some programs who have memory leaks. I thought that rebooting cleares the pagefile, so any crappy software writtings to it will be flushed. Back in the days I had Win2K running for weeks without rebooting, but in the end it did affect system performance, and a reboot solved it.

Yes I agree there, some programs do cause the PC to eventually lock up and crash, but rebooting doesn't clear the pagefile, although there is an option to do this under admin tools.

At the end of the day its a case of do what you think is best...

Regards