How to connect laptop to TV

Status
Not open for further replies.

ckolbas

I am extremely new at this so please be basic with me. All I am trying to do is hook up my new tv to my labtop. I bought a vga cord but it didn't put out sound to the tv just video.

I know that I can go a couple of different ways with this I just don't know how.

1) I could hook up the labtop sound to my stereo (prefered but I just can't figure out how to do it)

2) Figure out how to put sound to the tv.

Any advice would be much apprecited

First make sure your TV has some sort of sound input ports. This iis similar to connecting your dvd player. You need a cable that on one end connects to your laptop sound outpu and the other end [probably RCA] to your tv 'sound input'. I know 'radio shack' or any electronic carry these cables or have some sort of converter

Ok I know that this is going to sound really...well...stupid but where is the audio out on a labtop? I have HDMI; VGA; and your basic rca cords on the back of the tv. I am pretty literate at hooking up surround sound; dvd players etc to the "old TVS" I am just not sure with the laptop end of it I guess. I have always had a dwsktop...so therefore never really played around with a laptop at all. Thanks for the input though maybe I will go and take a ride to radio shack or best buy sometime today!

Thanks again for the help
Christian

That's where the external speakers plug into, just like your desktop. It's usually a green colored plug (next to the mic plug)

First I want to thank everyone for their time/patience with me. I really appreciate the respnds.

I tried a basic red/white rca cable and it wont fit into the audio out on my laptop. What is the connector called so that I have rca on one side and the other being the one to plug into the laptop audio out?

Also I was looking into a vga cord on ebay and they have something listed as: