How to install IE 10 on Windows 7 32-bit?

By abbasi
Nov 10, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. Hello,

    How to install IE 10 on Windows 7 32-bit ultimate please?

  2. mike1959

    mike1959 TechSpot Addict Posts: 1,033   +15

  3. abbasi

    abbasi TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 290   +11

    Dear mike: I downloaded the IE from there. Now I should directly install it over IE 9, yes?
    If yes, I should say that I did that, and when installing I faced that message (I uploaded it in below).

    And If I click on the "get update", it takes me to that address: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2818833
    But I don't know what to do there:(

    Attached Files:

  4. JC713

    JC713 TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 6,711   +873

    Yes, just install it over IE9 and install the update as it says.
  5. abbasi

    abbasi TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 290   +11

    I did that. but the update link was some problematic. So I tried that one "2670838 A platform update is available for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1". It worked and now I have IE 10 on Windows 7.:)
    Thank you guys.
  6. mike1959

    mike1959 TechSpot Addict Posts: 1,033   +15

    Hi, That's correct, you did need to install the update before you could install I.E.10.
  7. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 5,765   +1,427

    I find these errors to be odd. I've recently dealt with a refurbished PC that came with Windows 7 Home 32bit. The PC came with only IE8. Windows update showed both IE9 and IE10. I skipped the IE9 update and only installed IE10. If IE9 is not needed at all, it makes me wonder why IE9 would need updating when upgrading to IE10. It all sounds like BS/Bloat that shows incompetence level of MS, if you ask me. I'll bet if you upgraded any third party app to a new version, they wouldn't require you to first update the current version.
  8. abbasi

    abbasi TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 290   +11

    As you surely know, every Windows OS has some version of IE. Consider some PC has IE 8 installed on it. Now if you want to directly skip from 8 to 10, it's possible. And you can directly install IE 10 over IE 8, without any need to first upgrade from 8 to 9 and then install 10, of course IMO.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.