How would I make a jump onto the PCI express bandwagon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wallabing

.....For the least amount of money?

I currently have Pentium 4 630 socket 775
2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Corsair DDR dual channel mode
Geforce 6600 256MB AGP

After trying to find all possible motherboards, it turns out I am forced to abandon my beloved memory, and video card I worked so hard to get because all the newer motherboards dont use them anymore. I can, however, keep my cpu because all the next generation Core 2 duo boards support my Pentium 4, So I'm a bit happy there.

If I get this board, I can reuse my memory and save me a load of money

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813135023

But it has questionable quality

Anyone recommend a good solid Conroe motherboard under $100?

and DDR2 Memory brand and speed?

and a good video card under $150

This is my first time making the big expensive switch to PCI express.

Any help appreciated

I would stick with what you have for right now, I mean you have a very decent video card as it is. You would be throwing alot of memory away also.

yeah your video card is pretty good now, I got PCI and a decent video card but I'm thinking of just building a new computer anyways and getting PCI-E or getting a computer from newegg because their stuff has all the stuff I want and I could always add stuff.

wallabing said:
Anyone recommend a good solid Conroe motherboard under $100?
Not going to happen. You truly want a good chipset (Intel), dual-channel DDR2-800 memory support, and good BIOS support if you're going to spend any money.

DDR2 Memory brand and speed?
DDR2-800, Cas4 (or lower) from OCZ, Mushkin, Corsair or Crucial, and in pairs to retain dual-channel ability.

a good video card under $150
There are plenty of great videocards under $150 US for PCI-Express that would be a measurable upgrade from your 6600.
X800GTO - $105
X850XT PE - $119
X1650 Pro - $125
7600GTS - $125
6800XT - $129