I have a legit Windows XP key but no disc

Deery50

So I am sort of a computer noob here. I was just wondering if it was possible to get a copy of the windows XP home edition Iso file, I have a product key but It was on a computer that broke. I don't want to download a torrent, I would like an iso file that is untouched. I've been trying to figure this out for two days. Thanks.

I don't know how you'd get a Home Edition ISO. Official MS ISO's that I know of for educational purpose distribution are Pro copies. This advice is on the edge of forum rules, but since you have a product key I'd just download a torrent. There are plenty of copies online that are untouched.

I would not advise torrents.
1. They are a major malware vector.
2. The end result is likely to report as "not -genuine"... so even with your genuine product key, SNAFU.

In the US, sometimes you can find "surplus" copies of software (unused) at computer shows.
I would be inclined to find an on-line store (good reputation) and pony up the $30-$50 necessary for a new/unused copy and key.

As long as you download an ISO copy of the disc, there are no problems with 'non-geniune' messages etc. I have done this numerous times when I didn't have a disc handy. (By the way, my keys are obtained via legit MS avenues)

Techspot Terms of Use include...
By agreeing to these rules, you warrant that you will not post any messages that are...violative of any laws.
I think even discussing the possibility of downloading MS software via Torrent infringes these terms of use.
Mods may disagree, but...

As I said, this is probably very close to (or is) a breach of TS rules. I don't know for sure that ISO copies of Windows are illegal, but Microsoft does hand out ISO's to corporations etc..

Either way, no way would I give you a link to any ISO I find on the web - find it yourself and then we can't get in trouble. :)