TechSpot

I keep getting Page fault in non page area BSOD on Windows 7

By th4ngnh0c
Oct 28, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. I keep getting BSOD at random times. Sometimes it crashes while I am not even doing anything. I have tried to reinstall windows couple times with different versions of Windows 7 x64. I have attached the mini dump files. Please help. Thank you

    Attached Files:

  2. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    Hello,

    I suspect bad RAM. Try testing it, using this guide:sevenforums.com/tutorials/105647-ram-test-memtest86.html

    Sorry about the non-parsed link, I had to edit it to avoid detection by the forum software, which apparently prohibits new members like myself from posting links.

    Firefox.exe was running in 2 dumps, which makes me suspect a network issue. Remove Norton, as per these directions: jcgriff2.com/NRT_N360_Removal.html

    Replace it with MSE: microsoft.com/security_essentials

    Summary of the Dumps:
    Code:
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Thu Oct 28 21:38:56.276 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 1:45:02.587
    BugCheck 50, {fffffa81856a0358, 0, fffff80002a8fb9b, 5}
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiDeleteAddressesInWorkingSet+27f )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    PROCESS_NAME:  firefox.exe
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Mon Oct 25 22:59:36.070 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:01:01.382
    BugCheck 1A, {5002, fffff70001080000, 2704, 2785fffffffe}
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+2971c )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_5002
    PROCESS_NAME:  sidebar.exe
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Mon Oct 25 22:57:40.689 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:36:04.000
    BugCheck 50, {fffff680400202d8, 0, fffff80002aec2e2, 5}
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiAgeWorkingSet+1c2 )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    PROCESS_NAME:  svchost.exe
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Sun Oct 17 13:09:16.691 2010 (UTC - 4:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:09:32.002
    BugCheck 50, {fffff680400543b0, 0, fffff800028d12e2, 5}
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiAgeWorkingSet+1c2 )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    PROCESS_NAME:  firefox.exe
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨
  3. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thank you for quick response.

    I also expect the problems were caused by bad RAM. I have 12 gb of RAM (6 sticks).
    I have ran the Microsoft memtest86 many many times and it didn't pick up any problem with RAM.
    I am positive the problems weren't caused by Norton nor Firefox because my PC crashed few times a week. I have tried MSE, AVG, Norton , and the PC still crashed. I believe the problems were caused by Firefox because my PC crashed while I was doing nothing...(nothing like.. PC is on but I am not even touching it...)
    Thank you.
  4. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    Firefox itself won't cause a BSOD, although it may trigger one under certain conditions.

    Don't trust the Microsoft memory diagnostic; it is known to be quite unreliable. Use Memtest86 instead, as in this tutorial: sevenforums.com/tutorials/105647-ram-test-memtest86.html

    I have not noticed many people suffering BSODs from the version of the Realtek drivers you are using, but anything can happen.

    Install these updated ones: 218.210.127.131/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false
  5. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thank you. Will try it out and update the results.
  6. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    You're certainly welcome, we'll be waiting!
  7. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Ran 16 pass and there was a bad RAM at Count Chan 1. Does that mean the RAM in slot 1 is bad?
  8. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    That's the most likely cause, but it could also be a heat problem, at 16 passes, or even a motherboard problem.

    How many errors were reported? Was it closer to 5, or 500,00?

    I suggest you now try the Prime95 "Blend" test. See this guide: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/100352-cpu-stress-test-prime95.html

    That's a different test than Memtest86, perhaps it will show more into this problem.
  9. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    This is a tedious task. I swear this will be the last time I buy OCZ. I will re run memtem86 and prime95 after that. There goes my weekend. :(
  10. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    Take your time. Memtest can be run overnight, during your off-hours, and Prime95 should be done in less than an hour.
  11. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    so I ran the memtest86 again for 14 passes and there were no errors found. I ran the Prime95 test after that for about an hour. The temperature of the cores never went over 69C. So I guess there were no errors found. What should I do now? Re-run the memtest86 again since it found error first time but not second time?
     
  12. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    69 is a little hot, perhaps you should consider some cooling. Try opening the side of your case, and cleaning the dust out of fans, heat sinks, and everywhere else, using a can of compressed air.

    If the problem persists, could you upload a full BSOD report for us?

    Use these directions: http://www.jcgriff2.com/BSODpostinstructions.html

    Zip up the output folder, and upload it to Rapidshare, or a similar site.
  13. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thank you Jonathan for all the help. Like I mention before, the BSOD happens at very random times. I will give a full report if it keeps happening. Thanks again.
  14. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    That sounds good, we'll be waiting. :)
  15. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I decided to take out 3 sticks of RAM. As the result, I didn't get any BSOD yet. I assume one of them is faulty?
  16. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

  17. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Hi Johnathan.
    I did use that when you recommended few days ago.
    I ran the test 3 times. 1st time showed error. 2nd and 3rd time no error.
  18. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    Did you try testing the sticks individually, in all slots, to determine where the problem is?

    Follow Part 3 as closely as you can.
  19. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    No I haven't done that yet. I have 6 sticks so it might take a bit of time to do that. I will do that this weekend. Thanks for the suggestion.
  20. th4ngnh0c

    th4ngnh0c TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I thought the BSOD went away but it didn't.... Still have no clue what is causing the problem. Here are the minidumps.
    Can someone save me from the BSOD :(

    Attached Files:

  21. Jonathan King

    Jonathan King TS Rookie Posts: 133

    BSODs rarely just "go away"; usually some software or hardware is causing them, which needs to be removed or updated.

    The dumps blame nothing of consequence, really; perhaps the dump blaming "hardware" is correct.

    I am especially concerned about the RAM, as Memtest reported an error once. RAM is not like the human mind, where even the best make mistakes. With RAM, you don't want to see a single error, ever.

    I recommend that you run the Prime95 "Blend" test: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/100352-cpu-stress-test-prime95.html

    In the past, Norton/Symantec has been known to cause BSODs, but it is true updates have made it quite rare now. Still, though, to make sure, you may consider removing Norton, and replacing it with MSE.

    Norton Removal Tool: ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/removal_tools/Norton_Removal_Tool.exe

    MSE: http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials

    And install these Realtek Ethernet drivers: http://218.210.127.131/downloads/do...d=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    Finally, try running Memtest86 again. Run it with all sticks in, for as long as you can afford. At least 12 hours, for your amount of RAM, preferably more like 24.

    ...Summary of the dumps:
    Code:
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Mon Dec  6 02:06:49.704 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 5:51:00.000
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiAgeWorkingSet+41b )
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    PROCESS_NAME:  wininit.exe
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!MiAgeWorkingSet+41b
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Thu Dec  2 21:22:24.406 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 2:00:19.701
    Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!GreCreateDIBitmapReal+a6c )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_c0000005
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  sidebar.exe
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1E_c0000005_win32k!GreCreateDIBitmapReal+a6c
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Tue Nov 30 03:23:31.179 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 8:01:39.475
    Probably caused by : hardware ( win32k!EngStretchBltROP+59b )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_c0000005
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  sidebar.exe
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_IP_MISALIGNED
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Fri Nov 19 13:13:32.943 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 17:37:41.238
    Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!NtGdiUpdateTransform+4a3 )
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    PROCESS_NAME:  explorer.exe
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_win32k!NtGdiUpdateTransform+4a3
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Mon Nov  8 22:43:38.612 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:37:15.907
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+29f57 )
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_5003
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  lsass.exe
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1a_5003_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+29f57
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Debug session time: Mon Nov  8 22:04:47.608 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:14:21.809
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption ( nt!MiAgeWorkingSet+41b )
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!MiAgeWorkingSet+41b
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.