I7 2600K hitting over 90 Celsius under load

cookiedude

Hi all

I'm a 3D designer and have recently experienced a few BSODs whilst rendering, the cause of which seems to be the USB 3 drivers (according to the minidumps). However, I have also started to notice that my CPU temps are going through the roof, caught my attention when it hit 85 degrees... now it's hitting 95 degrees under load (45-50 idle)!! I have always aimed to keep the temps below 80 and have only really strayed slightly above this on particularly warm days, so I'm a little concerned that something may have failed on my PC. Setup details are:

i7 2600K professionally overclocked to 4.5GHz (CPU fan seems to max at 1250rpm shouldn't this go higher?)
Asus P8Z86-V Mobo
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 Pro + 120mm Apache Black chassis fan x 2

I've had this PC for over 2 years and never had this problem before. I was inclined to think that the readings were inaccurate, but both CoreTemp and the Asus monitoring software show the same temps. I'm going to lower the overclock in the meantime but would love some help figuring out why this may be occurring? If you'd like any further info please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks, what's the best way to check the thermal compound? What should I look for that might indicate a problem? It's a work PC so don't want to tinker too much (not in my job description for one thing), as it's under warranty and wouldn't want to invalidate it. If the TC is to blame, what would you recommend as an alternative?

So the fan seems to be running almost at max speed, I'll check there's nothing getting in the way, but seemed pretty clean when I looked earlier.

Thanks, what's the best way to check the thermal compound? <snip> If the TC is to blame, what would you recommend as an alternative?
I should have stated replace because thats the only way to check. There is no way to know, without taking the cooler off and inspecting the old compound.