Improvement for Skylake $4000 Gaming rig

By nimbex
Sep 6, 2015
Post New Reply
  1. Hello All,

I'm a new builder with no recent experience in building. However, I have done a good bit of reading over the past few months about components and building. Here is the link to a build that I have planned out: [pcpartpicker]( . Please note, I currently own an acceptable keyboard and mouse (Razer, recent last year).

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($399.49 @ B&H)
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H110i GT 113.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($130.38 @ Newegg)
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($215.98 @ Micro Center)
    Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory ($145.78 @ Newegg)
    Storage: Samsung SM951 512GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive ($395.26 @ NCIX US)
    Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($53.44 @ OutletPC)
    Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Video Card (2-Way SLI) ($722.50 @ SuperBiiz)
    Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Video Card (2-Way SLI) ($722.50 @ SuperBiiz)
    Case: NZXT Phantom 820 (White) ATX Full Tower Case ($201.94 @ SuperBiiz)
    Power Supply: Corsair RM 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($152.78 @
    Optical Drive: LG UH12NS30 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer ($41.31 @ SuperBiiz)
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro OEM (64-bit) ($140.38 @ SuperBiiz)
    Wireless Network Adapter: Gigabyte GC-WB867D-I 802.11a/b/g/n/ac PCI-Express x1 Wi-Fi Adapter ($29.16 @ SuperBiiz)
    Monitor: Acer XB280HK bprz 60Hz 28.0" Monitor ($768.64 @ B&H)

Total: $4119.54

(1) Gaming - ability to run the 4K monitor (Gsync) reasonably smoothly on max settings, with some future proofing (1-3 years), on both CPU and GPU intensive games - current favs inclide upcoming Fallout 4, Witcher 3, Civilization series, SC2 ;
    (2) Ability to online stream without significant cut in gaming performance;