in need of a solution

Status
Not open for further replies.
Btw, im new to techspot, so hi everyone.

Basically, I work for a small company. Sometimes during the weekend, our power goes out and our standby UPS kicks in but I have been coming in lately seeing that the machines are off, because the UPS ran out. is there anything that would make the machines reboot on their own as soon as power is restored? its just a pain to come in and see 0 processes running

There is usually a bios setting on your servers (and workstations) to set the state after a power failure. It's dependent on your particular bios, but I don't think that I've ever seen one that doesn't have this option. Your options are usually On, Off, or Last State.

Well, I think the first thing to consider is getting whatever it is turning your power off over the weekend fixed. :)

'Restart after power failure' is a common option in motherboard BIOS setups (usually found in custom-built PCs, but not often with branded PCs). If you can find this option in your BIOS setup, then turning this on would be exactly what you want... So this is the solution if it is available on your computer BIOSes.

Another option is to get a bigger UPS or seperate UPSes for each system. Your average consumer UPS doesn't last very long, but if you don't mind spending hundreds of dollars on one, you can get something that will last for a long(er) period of time.

alright let me clarify. The power goes out over the weekend occasionally, for about a few hours at a time. I cant just turn off the power because there are people that need to be able to access the server daily. My biggest concern is that the server is just cutting out, and not getting a controlled shut down, which is not a good thing. and I wanted something that would automatically reboot after the power comes back on.

also, the server that we have is filling up quick. what would be the best solution? moving the data to an external HD or going raid for the server