TechSpot

Increasing FPS...

By Channer2004
Dec 28, 2006
  1. Hey here are my Current computer Specs (Note: It is a laptop.)

    --- all info taken from run-dxdiag
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    Processor: Mobile AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3700+, MMX, 3DNow, ~790MHz
    Memory: 2048MB RAM
    Display: Ati Mobility Radeon 9600/9700 Series
    Memory: 128 MB
    Current Display Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60 Hz)

    The Current game i am trying to get the best FPS on is World of Warcraft, i was curious if anyone can help me out with the best possible setting for my computer, maybe programs i need to run to help increase performance or close all the useless crap in the backround. ill check back often in and out fora few days and any information that i need to add to what has already been given that will help out ill give, but otherwise im running around 10 fps or less, its pretty horrible i tried turning all setting on v-card and in game performanced based but idk why i cant get it up higher, i kno this computer has a lot of potential to be a good gaming laptop, i mean thats what it was made for, (cyberpowerpc.com)
     
  2. MetalX

    MetalX TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,909

    Do you have the videocard drivers installed? If not, install them now, as they will improve performance by about 999,999,999,999%. If they are installed, try downloading newer version. Also, press ctrl+alt+delete to open task manager and check how many processes you have running. If you have more than 40, that is too many.
     
  3. F1N3ST

    F1N3ST TS Rookie Posts: 1,088

    That is a sweet laptop, you may need Omega drivers to increase performance, they are made with mobile cards in mind, ATI dosnt support them any more, get omega drivers, google it.
     
  4. Channer2004

    Channer2004 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i installed Omega drivers and i dont know wat setting to tweak on it, and my FPS in Ironforge (bussyest spot) is 6-10 FPS still sucks *** i know this laptop can do **** loads better but idk how to tweak it in the right direcetions

    currently have 39 processes, if u kno a program that gets rid of the **** ones let me know, thanks


    edit: i have never seen this thing go over 30FPS w/ the new counter in the top right, when like no action is going on it like max's at 30fps, but idk this is really anoying how bad this laptop has been performing
     
  5. Teaser261

    Teaser261 TS Rookie Posts: 177

    Metal X, can you turn any of these off? If so, how do you know which ones are safe to turn off?:confused:
     
  6. Channer2004

    Channer2004 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    just wanted to bump =)
     
  7. agi_shi

    agi_shi TS Rookie Posts: 507

    Anything under your "User Name" should be safe to turn off. Might turn off functionality you want, but it's nothing that the PC needs.

    Also, services:
    Start -> Run -> services.msc

    Turn off services according to here. (random googled site, after quick speed-read looks accurate; google "XP services" for more info)
     
  8. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,690   +337

    Turn off some of the details in the game, lower resolution if possible.

    Aside from drivers that is really all you can do. Except perhaps tweak some ini files...
     
  9. Channer2004

    Channer2004 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i have everysingle graphic lvl down as much as possible and flipped all performance increasing possibilities, i want performance over graphics
     
  10. MetalX

    MetalX TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,909

    To turn off some of those things, go to start, run, and type "msconfig" without the quotes. Go to the services tab, check Hide all Microsoft Services, and then click on "Disable All". Then go to the startup tab, and uncheck all of them except any that have to do with ATI (or whatever your videocard manufacturer is).

    That should bring your processes down to around 19-20.

    Also, if you have Norton Antivirus, or any Norton program for that matter, uninstall it. Norton is a big system hog. Also, disable all firewalls, and see if that improves performance. If it does, then you need to configure your firewalls to allow WoW unrestricted internet access.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.