Instant Death, tries to start but dies again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hurriken

I was wondering if someone could give me some direction as to troubleshooting my machine. Last night I was playing COD:UA and all was well (except I was dying a lot!) when the CPU just shutdown. I unplugged everything and tried to power it up again. It acts normal for about 30 seconds. Then the fans start running really hard and it shuts down again. Hopefully this is just a power supply problem. How can I start troubleshooting this? I have tools and electronics experiance. I'm no expert but not a newbie either. I don't have much hardware experiance with computers.

Can you describe in a little more detail exactly what happens? i.e. does the monitor light up, does it start loading windows etc...

What PSU model do you have? How old is the psu/computer?

The computer is about 18 months old. It's an HP Pavillion a1630n. I'm not sure what you mean by PSU. I had a crash in December and I changed the HD and it has worked well since. My drop down shows system specs.

When I push the power button. one fan comes on for a few seconds then shuts off. The screen comes up asking me if I want to start windows normally or not. Then the Windows logo on black screen comes up as it normally does and then a fan comes on full bore. After about 5-10 seconds of that the computer powers off again.

(can a more experienced techie than myself verify this is a reasonable route for Hurriken to take pls?)

psu = power supply unit.

Okay, first things first you need to establish whether you are looking at a software issue or a hardware issue. As you get as far as starting to load windows, you can't rule out a software problem.

Try pressing 'del' repeatedly on bootup to enter the bios. Is the computer stable in BIOS, or does the same shutdown occur?