Intending to install wireless internet on existing modem/router

By salxtai
Aug 30, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello:
    I've been keen to consider setting up a wireless internet connection at home which would allow me to access a wireless laptop. I already have a modem/router (NetComm NB1300 Plus4) set up with the standard cable connections to two computers (one of which does not have wireless capabilities).

I was wondering if anyone would have suggestions on what i should be looking for in order to do such a set up, or whether its even plausible in the first place?

networking and ADSL-related issues are something i have no knowledge on, so i would appreciate any information on how to best approach this.

Thankyou kindly.
  2. Cinders

Cinders TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,313   +12

Well, you will need a wireless access point you can connect to your router. Your wireless computers will connect to the access point and the access point will talk to your router/modem and your modem will negotiate with your service provider.
  3. jobeard

jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,288   +281

like this:
    Code:
    modem--existingRouter---wiredSystems
                     +
                     +--access.point   -.-.-.-  wireless systems

4. salxtai

salxtai Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

Ah, I see now
    so the wireless access point would be different to a wireless router/modem then?

I am also guessing that brand compatibility is not an issue as long as its configured correctly?

Thankyou for your fast responses =)
  5. jobeard

jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,288   +281

to be safe, match the AP and the wireless adaptor -- it goes much easier that way.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...