Is ATI Radeon 9250 DirectX 9 compatible?

By NLE user
Oct 31, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Can I "overclock" ATI Radeon 9250 to make it DirectX 9 compatible?

    Is my current graphics card (9250) compatible with DirectX 9? And if it's not too much trouble, what does DirectX 9 require that the 9250 doesn't have.

    Can 'overclocking' (is that the right word?) get around it? My computer specs are:

    AMD Athlon64 3000 (1.8Gh)
    Gigabyte GA-K8NS-939 (mother brd)
    1Gb ram
    200Gb mem
    ATi Radeon 9250, 128M (graphics crd)

    Do i need a new graphics crd?
  2. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    Yes, the 9250 is indeed DirectX 9.0 compatible.

    It's not 100% compliant, but it is indeed compatible.. i.e. you can install DirectX 9.0 and there are DirectX 9.0 drivers available for it.

    The 9250 only supports pixel and vertex shaders V1.4, which puts it slightly above DX8.0 (DX8.1 to be exact), but not quite up to PS/VS 2.0 of DirectX 9.0. This isn't a big concern though as *most* DX9.0 games will use PS1.4 if available.
  3. DonNagual

    DonNagual TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 3,565

    If you look HERE you'll see a list of 9250 cards. Looks like 95% of them are directx 8, but there are a few that are directx 9 in that list. Depends on which 9250 you have.

    Overclocking gives the card's speed a boost, but I do not believe this has anything to do with what version of directx is it compliant with. Wait and see what someone else to say for a second opinion.

    But as was said above, you will still be able to play directx 9 games.

    As for your question about whether or not you should upgrade that card... I would say yes. From a gaming standpoint, that is what is holding you back with your system I would say.
  4. NLE user

    NLE user Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    I'm not much of a gamer these days. I mainly got my computer for audio and video projects. I've just got Pinnacle Sudio Plus v9 as a Non-Linear Editing program. This requires DirectX 9.

    If I can play games with the 9250, would I be able to edit video? Currently I use Windows movie maker, but every time the project gets over 10 minutes it crashes. Is that a problem with the program or my graphics card?
  5. kirock

    kirock Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,598

    Page File size

    1 Gb RAM should be enough, so I'm suggesting checking your page file size.

    The page file (pagefile.sys) is a hidden file on the hard disk that is used by Windows to retain temporary data when your system is running low on RAM. The page file is also known as paging file or swap file. Virtual memory is made up of page file and RAM.

    The recommended page file size is equivalent to 1.5 times the amount of RAM up to a maximum of 4,095 MB. This means that the largest paging file size per volume that you can set is 4,095 MB.

    If RAM times 1.5 is less than the current maximum page file size, and RAM times 1.5 is less than 4,095 MB, it is recommended that you increase the size of the page file size.

    Note
    To prevent page file fragmentation, it is recommended that you set the paging file size initial and maximum values to be the same value. If you decrease the size of either the initial or maximum page file settings, you must restart your computer to see the effects of those changes. Increases typically do not require a restart.

    To change the page file settings
    1.
    Click Start, click Control Panel, and then click System.

    2.
    On the Advanced tab, under Performance, click Settings.

    3.
    In the Performance Options dialog box, on the Advanced tab, under Virtual Memory, click Change.

    4.
    Under Drive [Volume Label], click the drive that contains the paging file you want to change.

    5.
    Under Paging file size for selected drive, click Custom size, and enter the recommended page file size in megabytes in the Initial size (MB) and Maximum size (MB) fields, and then click Set.

    For further reading check here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pr...BPA/d9dd689e-6a51-4751-bb28-bf2ab3a78c3c.mspx
  6. Rick

    Rick TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,304   +52 Staff Member

    Compatible? Yes.
    Takes 100% advantage of all DX9 features? Not entirely.
  7. NLE user

    NLE user Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Kirock in your message you suggested:

    1 Gb RAM should be enough, so I'm suggesting checking your page file size.

    I've increased my minimum page file side from around 1550 to around 3500 (the maximum that was suggested by windows)

    Although Pinnacle Plus v.9.4 looks fine on my computer (there is no loss of video quality etc. So I think DirectX 9 works) It has the same problem as Windows movie Maker: The program crashes and generates an error report for windows. My computer doesn't crash, just the program.

    Can anyone tell me why this is happening?
  8. kirock

    kirock Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,598

    I always see ATI driver conflicts running on AMD processors and nVidia chipsets.
    YES. The 128Mb is slowing you down, plus it only supports DirX8.1:

    I would upgrade to GeForce 6600GTX or higher, but it has to be AGP to fit your GA-K8NS mobo.
  9. iceangelfire17

    iceangelfire17 Newcomer, in training

    i have a 2.66 dual core processor, 512 of ram and ATI radeon 9250. is it compatible with NBA live 2008 or Need for speed underground 2? thank you. hope that you could help me!!
  10. iceangelfire17

    iceangelfire17 Newcomer, in training

    i have RADEON 9250 128MB AGP does it supports Need for speed underground 2 and NBA live 2008? please help me!
  11. tweakboy

    tweakboy TechSpot Maniac Posts: 518

    LOL, this is the first time Ive seen this 9452 , its a higher number then 1900xt. But I guess its a budget card for people who dont play games,, or play games and dont get bothered by ugly graphics and slow motion game play!!!
  12. TL93

    TL93 Newcomer, in training Posts: 76

    The 9250 is DirectX 9 supported BUT doesn't fully support it. Only fully supports Direct X 8.1 =D
  13. iceangelfire17

    iceangelfire17 Newcomer, in training

    can i play need for speed underground 2 and nba live 2008 with my ati radeon 9250? help me please
     
  14. TL93

    TL93 Newcomer, in training Posts: 76

    I have the ATi Radeon 9250 and it works with NFS Underground 2 just fine =D
  15. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 8,277   +177

    You could go to this website to see: CNET
  16. tweakboy

    tweakboy TechSpot Maniac Posts: 518

    Of course it has DX9 and can support it. You may be missing some features but thats about it....
  17. Tha General

    Tha General TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,225

    The Diamond Stealth Version of the 9250 is the best one, has fully DX9 support, with Vertex /Shader Model 1.4, and open GL 1.5 and has a 128bit inferface. Buy the Diamond Stealth Version.

    Note: The Diamond Stealth version i bought a while back, has also 256MB DDR.

    http://www.diamondmm.com/S9250PCI256.php
  18. iceangelfire17

    iceangelfire17 Newcomer, in training

    can i play nba live 2008 with my ati radeon 9250 ? please help me!
  19. TL93

    TL93 Newcomer, in training Posts: 76

    Yes, the ATi Radeon 9250 can run NBA Live 2008.
  20. Tha General

    Tha General TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,225

    The 9250 is a pretty powerful card. But dude, why go with the 9250 when you get the X1550 128bit inferface Diamond Stealth Card. By the X1550
  21. TL93

    TL93 Newcomer, in training Posts: 76

    He has the 9250 already XD
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.