TechSpot

is there difference between ati and sapphire?

By xanimefanx
Jul 15, 2007
  1. I want this card

    Sapphire X1950 Pro 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express Video Card w/Dual DVI

    or you have ati radeon which is more expensive

    Ati Radeon X1950 Pro

    I have no clue what the difference is someone help

    oh and by the way the guy who fixed my computer and replaced the harddrive said i can hold any graphic card made so far with pci express

    if i buy the sapphire will it come with everything i need? can i update the drivers and stuff for free?
     
  2. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 7,241   +9

    Different brand names. The chipset is the same, but they are much different in other ways.
    Sapphire is a good brand.
     
  3. xanimefanx

    xanimefanx TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 82

    good because i want the graphic card and since its the same then brand names that are more expensive don't matter.
     
  4. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

    tomshardware.com rates hardware like graphics cards and PSUs all the time. Plus they do tests. check it out.
     
  5. xanimefanx

    xanimefanx TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 82

    what is crossfire?
     
  6. pdyckman@comcas

    pdyckman@comcas TS Rookie Posts: 527

    Crossfire is when you use 2 ATI cards at the same time. You get a mobo w/ 2 pci-e slots and install 2 of the same card. Ati provides a cable that connects the 2 processors. Nvidia calls it "SLI" = scalable link interface. Same deal.
     
  7. xanimefanx

    xanimefanx TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 82

    if i get sapphire radeon X1950 or if i get a sapphire radeon X1900 would i need another graphic card to use the graphic card i only have one Available PCI-Express x16 Slot.
     
  8. Illathen

    Illathen TS Rookie

    ATI is the chip manufacturer while saphire uses Ati's chips and makes the cards, as do many other companies, all saphire cards are still Ati.

    For crossfire you will need a motherboard that has 2 PCI express graphics cards slots and pbviously supports crossfire rarther than SLI (the Nvidea version of crossfire)

    if i am not mistaken to crossfire 2 1900's or 1950's you will need to purchase a master version of the card and then a normal version. If you dont want this confusion you can just purchase any two 1950 Pros, aslong as they are say both saphhire with the same ammount of memory they will crossfire fine.
     
  9. xanimefanx

    xanimefanx TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 82

    what if i just want one card for it and it has crossfire can i use it without using the crossfire?
     
  10. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 6,979   +362

    Yes, you may use just one card if you want, even if you have a Crossfire compatible motherboard. The same goes for an SLI compatible motherboards.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...