Laptop problem Asus Vivobook Q301LA

Until recently my laptop, an Asus Vivobook with an i5-processor, touchscreen and a 500 gig harddisk, worked just fine, no problems whatsoever. But when I started playing GuildWars 2 it developped a nervous 'tick'. Let me explain: of course the battery of my laptop doesn't last forever, so sometimes I have to plug it in while playing GW, and as soon as I do that the screen starts to black out randomly, as bad as sometimes every 3 seconds. It turns itself on again, and there's no loss of performance (at least not a noticeable one). It gets worse: when I stop playing it continues to flicker on and off. I know that it's not a heat problem, at least I don't think so. SpeedFan detects temperatures up to 67 degrees while playing, but that's it, my laptop should be able to handle that.

Can anyone help me?

Last edited:
...ok, here's an addendum to my post: at the moment the screen goes blank every time I plug in the charger, and the core temperature is around 51, 52 degrees, so in my humble opinion it's definitely not a heat issue.

If you are absorbed in a game you are not likely to notice the battery level. There is third party software that can alert you when the battery charge reaches a particular preset level. Is it not possible to play the computer game with the charger already connected up rather than waiting for the problem? A computer shop could check the charger unit for you.

This happened to my daughter's computer. We found that we could plug an external monitor in and it works well. So it make a pretty compact desktop until we can resolve this issue. Would be interested to know if this works for you, too.

I'm struggling to understand why an external monitor is required. If you are next to a power point why not have the charger unit plugged in instead?

Is this problem more to do with running the Guildwars game?
If you boot the laptop and don't run this game, does the same problem happen?