Laptop slows down in confusing circumstances

Hello guys,
I've been using my laptop (Dell Inspiron 15R) for almost 3 years now and I never had a problem apart from the slow boot-up which I thought was because I didn't format it for a while. However, ever since I did that it started slowing down to a point where it almost stops working at almost completely random points.
It happens most commonly when I'm torrenting something and I quit the torrenting app and when I run it again it starts checking and the whole laptop stops responding. The weird thing is that if I etc have a song playing on Youtube the song along with the video will continue working, new tabs will open although if I try to search it just keeps showing the circle as if I have a very slow connection and it takes a while to open sth. When I try using the bad boys (ctrl+alt+delete) I get that Windows thing but when I try to run task manager from there it stops responding and the only thing I can do is un-plug it since it won't restart by long-pressing power button either.
I've read that it might be the HDD but since I didn't have any problems prior the format I'm not sure that's correct.
I also noticed that when I try running an .exe file it takes too long to respond, sometimes even 10 minutes for something as simple as Minecraft.
Thanks to anyone that helps (or even tries) and sorry for my bad english, it's not my native language.

[CENTER](y):):)TsPnVgR:):)(y)[/CENTER]

For non-native, your English is just fine :)

torrenting does strange things to network configurations. If this were related to the HDD, the everything would be terrible, including email and Google.

First, be sure to QUIT all other applications when using a Torrent - - they tend to be resource pigs. When you are done, close all windows to get back to only the desktop before attempting anything else.

First of all, thank you :D :D