LCD Display - No Signal Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

TonytheX

Hello,

I'm a little new to the tech world. I'm having an issue with my display not receiving a signal. It was working perfectly fine before, but I moved and now it won't work. I have another CRT monitor that works when it is plugged into the VGA port on my video card, but I cannot get a signal when I use the DVI connection on the LCD. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
~Tony

Hi, and thank you! I tried using just the LCD display by itself, but when it didn't receive a signal, I plugged in the CRT and did get a signal (when both were connected at the same time). Initially it was only the LCD by itself when it didn't work.

Did you try both dvi ports (if you have 2 on teh card)? what kind of video card do you have? are there any video card settings in the bios that you could chaneg that might help?

I have an MSI GeForce 6600GT. It has one DVI port and one VGA one. The display that I have is a ViewSonic VX2025wm (also has one DVI and VGA port).

I played around with it a little more and I'm not sure if the following may be relevant to the issue. I found my VGA cable and got the display to work with it, but I cannot set the display to show 1680x1050 resolution - I think this is the native resolution of the display. When I try to change the resolution, the 1068x1050 is not an option. It jumps from 1600x1200 to 1920x1080. I'm not sure how to change this back.

Thanks again for all your help!! =)

with your video card, you might have to go in to the nvidia control panel and create a "custom resolution" aka picking one out that isn't officially supported by the card.

The MSI GeForce 6600GT will only work well on certain motherboards... 8x/4x AGP... but it is a good card, in our experience. But check to see if it will handle the ranges between 1600x1200 and 1920x1080. There have been excellent test reviews, but I cannot remember what they say.