Machine crash - need more cache, memory, cpu??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi fellow techies!

I'm an application and interface programmer (I'm a software geek) who has a problem with a real-time application -- real-time is not my specialty. I have two questions: 1) what should I be looking at to isolate the problem, and 2) what would be the best hardware fix -- increase CPU, RAM, cache or more processors. (I will be trying to optimizing the software too.)

Here's the background:

The application controls a motor, handles two video inputs, and does some image processing on those images, ie, resizing, stitching them together into bigger pictures, mouse tracking overlays, etc. The software is multi-threaded running on a duel core CPU.

After running a while, the whole application crashes on a function that we call a zillion times: BitBlt. Different threads can be the initial starting point in the crash, but the crash is aways on BitBlt when it checks for a valid destination. For example, one crash was from a video thread and another was on the stitching thread.

When we run it with just one video input, it runs fine. Here's a picture of the performance monitor:

View attachment 22496

The black line hovering around 60% is the CPU (% Processor Time). The green line at the top that dips like an icicle is the cache (copy reads/sec). The yellow line at the bottom is the cache (fast reads/sec). And the olive line that peaks with the yellow line is the memory (pages/sec).

The CPU dip on the left side of the chart is when we are going from one group of images to a second group and we put the video to sleep while the motors are moved. The yellow/olive line jumps that follow immediately are from another thread that is stitching the final composite image and outputting it.

When we add the second video input, the CPU maxes at 100% and it looks like the cache is doing a lot paging:

View attachment 22500