Memory Size vs Memory Bus

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm fairly new to comparing video cards, and finding up to date, unbiased articles on this is a pain, so I ask you kind folks this -

I have a choice of buying 2 similar cards:
1) GeForce 7600 GS with 512MB video memory and 128-bit memory bus.
2) ATI Radeon X1900 GT with 256MB video memory and 256-bit memory bus.

Most other attributes are similar but the ATI is slightly faster speeds (and higher price). Generally speaking though, what is more important: more memory? or better bus?

Another comparison in a similar price zone is a
1) GeForce 7600 GS with 512MB video memory and 128-bit memory bus, 533 MHz Memory Clock, 12.8 GB/s Memory Bandwidth. (heat sink-no fan)
2) GeForce 7600 GT with 256MB video memory, 128-bit memory bus, 1400 MHz Memory Clock, 22.4GB/s Memory Bandwidth. (fan)

Which of these two would result in better performance? Are fans that noisy?

questions first

What type Operating system are you using ?
How much memory do you have installed now?
Is the primary reason for playing games?
How much money can you spend?
What type of processor and motherboard do you have?

a price range would be nice. More important than the memory is the gpu clock speeds. Please provide more information.

The memory bus is very important when shopping for a graphics card. For the 7600GS you listed, the 512MB of memory is almost useless because the memory interface is only 128-bit. This is the equivalent of trying to obtain water from a large bucket through a tiny pin-hole!

From the choices you listed, the Radeon X1900 GT would be the ideal selection.