TechSpot

Memory Speed, is this Right?

By Cypher2006
Mar 8, 2006
  1. hi, i was browsing on Everst Home and came across the page with my memory information on and it said i have 512mb of PC3200, and next to it it had (200mhz) i thought that pc3200 was 400mhz, is there any reason for why this is saying 200mhz. i can post the printscreen if you like, is there any other way or program that shows RAM Speed?
     
  2. JMMD

    JMMD TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 854

    It's 200Mhz clock speed. The 400Mhz is 2x200Mhz which is what PC3200 DDR is.
     
  3. peterdiva

    peterdiva TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 1,088

    The reason it's multiplied by 2 is that data can be read both ways at the same time.
     
  4. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Oh right, so its definately going at 400mhz then? thats ok then, cheers guys your a real help :D EVERYONE, BIG UP THEESE TWO GENTLMEN :p
     
  5. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

    no it's 200mhz read bidirectionally.

    If you take an osciiliscope to it, the RAM works in both the up and down cycles.

    (therefore it "tricks" the motherboard into thinking it is 400mhz)
     
  6. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Ah, thats complicaed for me but i understand what you mean lol
     
  7. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    back to this topic.....are you sure is there another way to find speed RAM is going at, when i built my pc it said remeber to set correct BUS freq and stuff like that, because at the moment this PC doesnt feel alot faster than my old one.
     
  8. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    i went into the BIOS and changed my DRAm clock to 400 from 200, isnt this what my RAM should be running at, or is this somethin different and should i changed back...what would have happend now i put from 200 to 400 and i only have on stick of RAM if i get another of the same will the speed go to 400 when its set to 200...its all abit weird
     
  9. truflip

    truflip TS Rookie Posts: 390

    DONT!!! your gonna get boot errors cuz ur ram doesnt run double its speed >_< in other words, you OC'ed your ram lol

    Listen to tedster and the others (actually Tedster went into the techy lingo there, so you dont have to listen to him. lol)

    basically:
    DDR = Double Data Rate.
    200mhz x 2 = 400mhz ... 400mhz = PC3200 (DDR400)

    so dont go changing the clock in the bios. your ram is totaly fine my friend
     
  10. SOcRatEs

    SOcRatEs TechSpot Paladin Posts: 966

    I would set it to: By spd or auto.
    You can tighten memory timmings or loosen them but only if
    you are OC'ing and having trouble.

    My ram
    Information SPD EEPROM (A0) :
    Manufacturer : Corsair
    Part Number : VS512MB400
    Serial Number : xxxxxxxxx
    Type : DDR-SDRAM PC3200 (200 MHz) - [DDR-400]<<<
    Size : 512 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)

    Width : 64-bit

    Max. Burst Length : 8
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8 ┬Ás, Self Refresh
    Voltage : SSTL 2.5v

    Supported Frequencies : 200 MHz <<<
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 2.5 clocks @200 MHz <<<
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @200 MHz <<<
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @200 MHz <<<
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 8 clocks @200 MHz<<<
     
  11. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    yeah i should have read this first lmao, i did put DRAM to 400 and it didnt boot up so i cleared CMOS back to stock....ooops, thx i have it cleared up now i no that its defo going at normal speed thnks guys
     
  12. truflip

    truflip TS Rookie Posts: 390

    silly rabbit =P
     
  13. SOcRatEs

    SOcRatEs TechSpot Paladin Posts: 966

    No problem :grinthumb
     
  14. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    :D i think another 512 will top this system off, i like my apps to open fast and i lyk low latency grrr
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...